Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. More than a year after she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich, she lives in England, posing as an ordinary German immigrant, and is preparing to graduate from high school. Her love, Daniel, is a reporter in town. For the first time in her life, Gretchen is content.

But then Daniel gets a telegram that sends him back to Germany, and Gretchen's world turns upside down. When she receives word that Daniel is wanted for murder, she has to face the danger she thought she'd escaped—and return to her homeland.

Gretchen must do everything she can to avoid capture, even though saving Daniel will mean consorting with her former friends, the Nazi elite. And as they work to clear Daniel's name, Gretchen and Daniel discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and get out in time—or will Hitler discover them first?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Will leave the reader breathless with each unpredictable plot twist.” —Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (starred review)

“Blankman once again expertly crafts a powerful story full of mystery, intrigue, romance, and edge-of-your-seat terror and suspense.” —School Library Journal

“Suspenseful and clever...The tight interweaving of Gretchen’s journey with historical events lends a sense of the genuine-and results in the fascinating experience of following a quest readers know is doomed to fail.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Bold and brave” —Booklist

“Heart-stopping drama…brilliant storytelling and characterization.” —Romantic Times

Praise for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG: “I’m in awed envy of the daring with which Anne Blankman plunges into her difficult and sensitive subject matter. It’s terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true.” —Elizabeth Wein, award-winning author of CODE NAME VERITY

Praise for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG: “PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG seamlessly blends the fascinating, terrifying facts of Hitler’s rise to power with a gripping murder mystery. Gretchen is a brave and believable protagonist, and readers will become engrossed in her struggle to uncover the truth. I can’t wait for the sequel.” —Michelle Cooper, award-winning author of the Montmaray Journals series

Praise for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG: “A nail-biting visit to Adolf Hitler’s inner circle in the early days of the Nazi party’s rise to power.” —Jennifer Armstrong, author of In My Hands: Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer (with Irene Gut Opdyke)

Praise for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG: “Completely engrossing” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG: “An interesting perspective on a well-trod era.” —Kirkus Reviews

Praise for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG: “Haunting and captivating” —School Library Journal

Praise for PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG: “A winning gamble” —Booklist

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062278845
  • ISBN 10: 0062278843
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 04/21/2015
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Historical / Holocaust
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places / Europe

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke by Anne Blankman

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!