The one and only

bestselling series by Katherine Applegate

Explore the full collection of modern classics

Then enter for the chance to win the entire series!

y648.jpg

The One and Only Family

For more than a decade, readers have been enchanted by the modern classic and Newbery Award winner, The One and Only Ivan, and its bestselling sequels, The One and Only Bob and The One and Only Ruby. Now, powerhouse author Katherine Applegate invites readers back into Ivan’s world for one last adventure.

Ivan has been happily living in a wildlife sanctuary, with his friend Ruby next door in the elephant enclosure, frequent visits from his canine friend Bob, and his mate Kinyani by his side. And in the happiest turn of all, Ivan and Kinyani have welcomed a set of twins to their family!

Ivan loves being a papa, even though it can be hard sometimes. But as he navigates the joys and challenges of parenthood, he can’t help but recall his life before the glass walls of the mall circus, his own childhood in the jungle—and his own twin.

The One and Only Ruby

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller starring the adorable baby elephant from the Newbery Medal-winning modern classic The One and Only Ivan and its bestselling sequel, The One and Only Bob.

Ruby’s story picks up a few months after the events of The One and Only Bob. Now living in a wildlife sanctuary, Ruby’s caretaker from the elephant orphanage in Africa where she grew up is visiting. Seeing him again brings back a flood of memories both happy and sad of her life before the circus, and she recounts the time she spent in the African savannah to Ivan and Bob.

In the timeless way that only Katherine Applegate could craft, this novel in verse is the perfect mix of heartfelt and humorous, poignant and sweet. Artist Patricia Castelao returns to the world of Ivan and his friends with gorgeous black-and-white interior illustrations to complete the story.

y648.jpg
y648.jpg

The One and Only Bob

Return to the unforgettable world of the Newbery Medal-winning and #1 New York Times bestselling novel The One and Only Ivan in this incredible sequel, starring Ivan’s friend Bob!

Bob sets out on a dangerous journey in search of his long-lost sister with the help of his two best friends, Ivan and Ruby. As a hurricane approaches and time is running out, Bob finds courage he never knew he had and learns the true meaning of friendship and family.

The One and Only Ivan

The #1 New York Times bestselling and Newbery Award-winning novel The One and Only Ivan is now a major motion picture streaming on Disney+!

This unforgettable novel celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendship. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated book is told from the point of view of Ivan himself.

Having spent twenty-seven years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create an unforgettable story of friendship, art, and hope

y648.jpg

Enter for a chance to win the entire series!

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. A PURCHASE WILL NOT INCREASE YOUR CHANCES OF WINNING. Contest opens April 17 at 12:00 AM and closes May 20 at 11:59 PM ET. Enter online at https://www.harpercollins.ca/sprout/one-and-only-series/.

Open to legal residents of Canada, excluding Quebec, who have reached the age of majority in their province/territory of residence or older. Void where prohibited by law. One prize available to be won, consisting of 1 copy of each of the following books by Katherine Applegate: The One and Only Family, The One and Only Ruby, The One and Only Bob, The One and Only Ivan.

Prize Approximate Retail Value: $100 CAD. PRIZES MUST BE ACCEPTED AS AWARDED. Maximum of one (1) entry allowed per person, plus three (3) bonus entries.

View the official rules for The One and Only Series Sweepstakes.

KatherineApplegate

About the author

Katherine Applegate is the Newbery Medal-winning and #1 New York Times bestselling author of numerous books for young readers, including the One and Only series, the Endling series, CrenshawWishtree, the Roscoe Riley Rules chapter books series, and the Animorphs series. She lives with her family in Nevada.

Resources

Educational activities perfect for fans of
The One and Only Ivan and The One and Only Bob

OneandOnlyIvanBobRuby-EducatorsGuide

Background information, discussion questions, and classroom activities

OneandOnlyIvan-ScavengerHunt

Family-oriented discussion questions and a zoo scavenger hunt

OneandOnlyBob-ColouringPage

Print and colour the cover of The One and Only Bob.

Explore more

from Katherine Applegate

Sprout

Join the Sprout community