Fiction

The Embroidered Book

Brimming with romance, betrayal, and enchantment, The Embroidered Book reveals and reimagines a dazzling period of history as you have never seen it before.

'Power is not something you are given. Power is something you take. When you are a woman, it is a little more difficult, that's all'

1768. Charlotte, daughter of the Habsburg Empress, arrives in Naples to marry a man she has never met. Her sister Antoine is sent to France, and in the mirrored corridors of Versailles they rename her Marie Antoinette.

The sisters are alone, but they are not powerless. When they were only children, they discovered a book of spells – spells that work, with dark and unpredictable consequences.

In a time of vicious court politics, of discovery and dizzying change, they use the book to take control of their lives.

But every spell requires a sacrifice. And as love between the sisters turns to rivalry, they will send Europe spiralling into revolution.

The
Circus Train

A must-read for fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants, The Circus Train will take readers on a heart-wrenching and spectacular two-decade journey across Europe. When all is lost, how do you find the courage to keep moving forward?

The People’s Princess

Her engagement to Prince Charles is a dream come true for Lady Diana Spencer but marrying the heir to the throne is not all that it seems. Alone and bored in the palace, she resents the stuffy courtiers who are intent on instructing her about her new role as Princess of Wales...

Black Cloud Rising

Set during the American Civil War, Black Cloud Rising is the powerful story of a man grappling with his own complicated history as he forges a future for himself — and his country. For readers of Edward P. Jones and Colson Whitehead

Love in a
Time of War

In 1913, in a quiet corner of London, the three Fry sisters are coming of age, dreaming of all the possibilities the bright future offers. But when war erupts their innocence is shattered and a new era of uncertainty begins.

The Last Beekeeper

One of the most exciting debuts of 2021, this is a lyrical historical novel of family, friendship, and self-discovery exploring the power of choice in a changing world and love in communion with nature. Perfect for fans of Christy Lefteri, Yann Martel, and Monique Roffey.

The Mayfair Bookshop

Eliza Knight brings together a brilliant dual-narrative story about Nancy Mitford — one of 1930s London’s hottest socialites, authors, and a member of the scandalous Mitford Sisters — and a modern American desperate for change, connected through time by a little London bookshop.

The Ghosts
of Paris

A thrilling tale of courage and secrets set in postwar London and Paris, in which a search for a missing husband puts investigator and former war reporter Billie Walker on a collision course with an underground network of Nazi criminals.

The Aerialists

The Aerialists is a rich historical novel based on the true story of Louisa Maud Evans, a fourteen-year old girl who died during the Great Exhibition in Cardiff, 1896, and whose demise – tumbling 8,000 feet into the Bristol Channel – captured the imagination of the city.

The Last Grand Duchess

This sweeping new novel from the internationally bestselling author of The Woman Before Wallis takes readers behind palace walls to see the end of Imperial Russia through the eyes of Olga Romanov, the first daughter of the last Tsar.

Sister Stardust

In her first novel inspired by a true story, New York Times bestselling author Jane Green re-imagines the glamorous and tragic life of fashion icon and socialite Talitha Getty in this transporting story from a forgotten chapter of the Swinging '60s.

Mrs. England

Simmering with menace, Mrs. England is a portrait of an Edwardian marriage, an enthralling tale of men and women, power and control, courage, truth and the very darkest deception.

The Secret Keeper of Jaipur

New York Times bestselling author Alka Joshi's sequel to The Henna Artist, The Secret Keeper of Jaipur once again showcases Joshi's rich storytelling and talent for transporting readers to a different cultural place and time with themes that are universal.