FirstLook

Dragon Springs Road by Janie Chang

9781443439374_dfd5a

A turbulent story that combines friendship, heartbreak, and history.

Perfect for fans of The Golden Son and Three SoulsJanie Chang's new novel Dragon Springs Road is a heartwarming story about how the lives of two girls—one, a Eurasian orphan; the other, a daughter of privilege—are bound together.

Their friendship is tested by the collapse of an imperial dynasty and the rise of a new government. Ultimately, it's up to the girls to decide which is more important—duty, honour, or love.

Here's what #HCCFirstLook readers thought!

"Janie Chang wrote Dragon Springs Road in such a way that allowed the story to flow without snags in understanding. The voice of the protagonist truly shines in each word as the story progresses. Dragon Springs Road is a tumultuous journey from the first page to the last. It will not disappoint." - Jessica G. Read her full review here.

 

"Dragon Springs Road is a book that had me cheering for the main character, Jialing. [...] The story is filled with unexpected events that had me wanting to read more to see how they would unfold.  This was a book that I couldn’t put down until the end!" - Violet

 

"So far, I would rate this book 4/5 stars but I strongly believe that by the end of the novel I may rate it higher." - Maggie M.

 

"Janie Chang’s latest novel, Dragon Springs Road is an tremendously original story [...] Dragon Springs Road is a literary work of art that should be on the very top of any book lovers “must read” pile for 2017." - Candice S.

 

"Dragon Springs Road had me staying up late (too late) to finish just one more page. [Janie Chang's] characters, each with secrets and longing, pulled me into the book. [...] I loved the twists and turns it took, and I finished the book with a smile on my face." - Krista D.

 

"As an orphan that struggles to fit in with either Western or Chinese society due to her mixed race heritage, [Jialing] finds her "family" instead in the company of misfit friends, compassionate teachers and an animal spirit that guides her gently as she grows into womanhood. ...Recommended for anyone looking for a book with a strong female lead, and a plot that captivates you til the very end." - Rachel G. Read her full review here.

 

"Dragon Springs Road is an enchanting story that kept me engrossed until the very last page. ...This coming-of-age story is a perfect fit for anyone who loves historical fiction, folklore, and a strong female lead. ...The story, characters, mystery, magic, everything, makes this one of the best books I've read in 2016!" - Shanna S. Read her full review here.

Share Dragon Springs Road!

Follow HarperCollinsCanada