Lily Harford's Last Request

by Joanna Buckley

On Sale: 02/02/2022

Lily Harford's Last Request

by Joanna Buckley

On Sale: 02/02/2022

Format:

About the Book

Lily Harford is nearing the end of her once joyful life - and for her, it can't come soon enough. Who will have the courage, kindness and love to grant her last request? A compassionate and heart-felt story for readers of Jodi Picoult, Tricia Stringer and Fiona Lowe.


Knowing she is sliding into dementia, Lily Harford is ready to give up her life ... but can she persuade someone to commit the illegal act of taking it from her?

Lily has lived a joyful, independent life in a seaside town in Queensland, running her own business and raising a daughter as a single mother at a time when few women did so. Now health and circumstance have pushed her into a nursing home, and her memory is failing, although events of the past remain fresh. Like pulling back the layers of a Russian doll, Lily recalls the former selves - mother, professional woman, lover, daughter - who still exist inside her.

Lily's daughter, Pauline, has been pushed to her limits by her demanding job, as well as the needs of her mother, husband, daughter and grandchildren. And now her mother is begging to die. Nurse aide Donna, still recovering from a dysfunctional childhood and the demise of her marriage, finds comfort in Lily's kindness and down to earth wisdom. As Lily fades, she asks Donna, too, to help her end her life.

A thought-provoking, vivid and moving exploration of how we value a life well lived, and the decisions we make when that life is coming to an end.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781867232476
  • ISBN 10: 1867232472
  • Imprint: HQ Fiction
  • On Sale: 02/02/2022
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:28.85 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Family Life
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Friendship
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Family Life / Marriage & Divorce
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Medical

Lily Harford's Last Request by Joanna Buckley

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.