Dressed By Iris

by Mary-Anne O'Connor

On Sale: 02/02/2022

Dressed By Iris

by Mary-Anne O'Connor

On Sale: 02/02/2022

Format:

About the Book

A vivid, romantic story of Sydney in the 1930s Depression - the heartbreak, the glamour, the dark underbelly, the struggle towards a better day - and one young woman's dream of designing her way from rags to riches. For readers of Natasha Lester and Victoria Purman.

1930: Seventeen-year-old Iris Mitchell dreams of designing clothes, but there's little spare cash for fashion in their shanty-town home. The gift of a single purple ribbon from would-be boyfriend John Tucker, however, creates an unexpected opportunity ... and when Iris's brother Jim joins the Sydney Harbour Bridge construction, the large, dirt-poor but loving Mitchell family can move to the city. Iris will be torn away from John, but he's Protestant and she's Catholic, taboo in their world, so perhaps it wasn't meant to be ...

1932: By day, Iris scrubs the floors at Caron's, an upmarket department store. By night, she designs and sews in her family's tiny, crowded house. Friendship with gorgeous, livewire Natasha, one of Caron's models, allows Iris to show her skills, but will her talent be acknowledged ... or exploited?

When John reappears, passions are reignited, and Iris must face not only their religious divide, but the apparent impossibility of having both marriage and a career. Meanwhile, the Mitchells must navigate life in a city riven by corruption, dirty politics and gambling. Will their faith, determination and deep family bond save them when tragedy and adversity strike? In 1930s Sydney, the stakes have never been higher ...

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781867225461
  • ISBN 10: 1867225468
  • Imprint: HQ Fiction
  • On Sale: 02/02/2022
  • Pages: 400
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Historical
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Friendship
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Political
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Romance / General

Dressed By Iris by Mary-Anne O'Connor

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.