Daughter of the Hunter Valley

by Paula J. Beavan

On Sale: 09/29/2021

Daughter of the Hunter Valley

by Paula J. Beavan

On Sale: 09/29/2021

Format:

About the Book

Alone. Near destitute. But brave and determined. Can Maddy beat the odds to create a new home in the Hunter Valley? An exciting Australian historical debut, perfect for readers of Darry Fraser.


1831, New South Wales

Reeling from her mother's death, Madeleine Barker-Trent arrives in the newly colonised Hunter River to find her father's promises are nothing more than a halcyon dream. A day later, after a dubious accident, she becomes the sole owner of a thousand acres of bushland, with only three convicts and handsome overseer Daniel Coulter for company.

Determined to fulfil her family's aspirations, Maddy refuses to return to England and braves everything the beautiful but wild Australian country can throw at her - violence, danger, the forces of nature and loneliness. But when a scandalous secret and a new arrival threaten to destroy all she's worked for, her future looks bleak ... Can Maddy persevere or should she simply admit defeat?

A captivating historical tale of one young woman's grit and determination to carve out her place on the riverbank.

PRAISE:

'Richly detailed, inspiring and romantic - this engrossing story of a brave young woman overcoming insurmountable odds brings to life the early years of the Hunter Valley with clarity and authenticity.' - Tea Cooper, author of The Cartographer's Secret

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781867221456
  • ISBN 10: 1867221454
  • Imprint: Mira
  • On Sale: 09/29/2021
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:28.85 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Romance / Historical / General
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Small Town & Rural
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Historical
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Sagas

Daughter of the Hunter Valley by Paula J. Beavan

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.