Nancy Wake

The gripping true story of the woman who became the Gestapo's most wanted spy

by Peter FitzSimons

On Sale: 10/01/2011

Nancy Wake

The gripping true story of the woman who became the Gestapo's most wanted spy

by Peter FitzSimons

On Sale: 10/01/2011

Format:

About the Book

The gripping true story of the woman who became the Gestapo's most wanted spy

In the early 1930s, Nancy Wake was a young woman enjoying a bohemian life in Paris. By the end of the Second World War, she was the Gestapo's most wanted person.

As a naïve, young journalist, Nancy Wake witnessed a horrific scene of Nazi violence in a Viennese street. From that moment, she declared that she would do everything in her power to rid Europe of the Nazis. What began as a courier job here and there became a highly successful escape network for Allied soldiers, perfectly camouflaged by Nancy's high-society life in Marseille.

Her network was soon so successful - and so notorious - that she was forced to flee France to escape the Gestapo, who had dubbed her "the white mouse" for her knack of slipping through its traps. But Nancy was a passionate enemy of the Nazis and refused to stay away. Supplying weapons and training members of a powerful underground fighting force, organising Allied parachute drops, cycling four hundred kilometres across a mountain range to find a new transmitting radio - nothing seemed too difficult in her fight against the Nazis. Peter FitzSimons reveals Nancy Wake's compelling story, a tale of an ordinary woman doing extraordinary things.

For fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Name: Lise comes the true story behind the historical fiction novels Code Name Helène and Liberation.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781743095713
  • ISBN 10: 1743095716
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 10/01/2011
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price:21.50 CAD
  • BISAC1 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women
  • BISAC2 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Military
  • BISAC3 : TRUE CRIME / Espionage
  • BISAC4 : HISTORY / Military / World War II
  • BISAC5 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Historical

Nancy Wake by Peter FitzSimons

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.