Someday, Maybe

A Good Morning America Book Club Pick

by Onyi Nwabineli

On Sale: 11/01/2022

Someday, Maybe

Enlarge Book Cover

Someday, Maybe

A Good Morning America Book Club Pick

by Onyi Nwabineli

On Sale: 11/01/2022

Format:

About the Book

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK • A BOOK OF THE MONTH CLUB PICK • A LIBRARYREADS PICK

“If you are someone who gravitates toward emotional gut punch reads, allow me to introduce you to this spectacular debut…”—BuzzFeed


Here are three things you should know about my husband:
  1. He was the great love of my life despite his penchant for going incommunicado.
     
  2. He was, as far as I and everyone else could tell, perfectly happy. Which is significant because…
     
  3. On New Year’s Eve, he died.

And here is one thing you should know about me:
  1. I found him.

Bonus fact: No. I am not okay.

Someday, Maybe is a stunning, witty debut novel about a young woman’s emotional journey through unimaginable loss, pulled along by her tight-knit Nigerian family, a posse of friends, and the love and laughter she shared with her husband.

“Incisive and witty. I couldn’t put it down.”—Lolá Ákínmádé Åkerström, internationally bestselling author of In Every Mirror She's Black

“A masterfully woven exposition on love and loss. Nwabineli is magic with words.”—Bolu Babalola, internationally bestselling author of Honey and Spice

Don't miss Onyi Nwabineli's next stunning page-turner, ALLOW ME TO INTRODUCE MYSELF, where a former kidfluencer must overcome her toxic family, reclaim her identity and, ultimately, find the freedom to be herself...

Critical Praise

“A masterfully woven exposition on love and loss, of the undoing of us, of what it takes to heal. Nwabineli is magic with words, and manages to be at turns bitingly funny and heart-breakingly gutting. A book that acknowledges despair whilst encouraging hope.”—Bolu Babalola, internationally bestselling author of Honey and Spice

"If you are someone who gravitates toward emotional gut punch reads, allow me to introduce you to this spectacular debut…"BuzzFeed, 35 New Books You Won’t Be Able To Put Down

“Eve would probably sympathise with Meghan Markle when it comes to meeting frosty English in-laws. Following in the footsteps of novelists such as Candice Carty-Williams and Natasha Brown, Nwabineli exposes everyday racism while never feeling preachy. I was reeled in by her chatty voice and stayed for the tender, touching depiction of grief and family.”—The Sunday Times

“Incisive and witty, this deeply moving debut about the many faces of grief took me on an oscillating journey of emotions. I couldn’t put it down. Each richly developed character leaps off the page with vivid dimension through Onyi’s razor-sharp voice. Fresh and original contemporary fiction from the Diaspora I’ve long yearned for.”—Lolá Ákínmádé Åkerström, internationally bestselling author of In Every Mirror She's Black

“One of the most powerful novels about grief I’ve read. It is simultaneously moving, witty and restorative.”—Daily Mail

“A heartbreaking exploration of grief that illustrates the power of relationships with those we love.”—ESSENCE

Someday, Maybe is an earnest study on grief that forces you to examine it and not look away.”—Associated Press

"Nwabineli’s exceptional debut is a heartfelt and moving portrayal of grief and recovery in all its messiness…This is an excellent choice for book clubs and for readers who enjoy thought-provoking, deeply emotional fiction."— *Starred Review* Booklist

“Reflective and heartrending, Someday, Maybe is also surprisingly witty and compellingly relatable. A powerfully realized debut.”—Ms. Magazine

“A blistering debut that packs a punch. Phenomenal.”—Melissa Cummings-Quarry, Black Girls Book Club

"A book about suicide may not sound heartwarming, but this one about a woman struggling to go on after losing her husband strikes the perfect balance between gut-wrenchingly sad and surprisingly funny. It’s a great rainy-day read about the love that rallies around us in tragic times—and a reminder that light can come from the most unexpected sources."—Good Housekeeping

“A beautiful and heartbreaking meditation on the layers of grief and love, the complicated expressions of human suffering and the courage it takes to let go the past. There is hope in these pages, and the promise of rebirth after losing so much.”—Derek Owusu, award-winning author of That Reminds Me

“It’s hard to believe that this outstanding novel is a debut. Poignant and heartfelt… A beautifully drawn story that shows us how to help those who are grieving.”Prima, Book of the Month

“A powerful tale of a London widow whose photographer husband died by suicide… The genuine displays of emotion and sharp narrative will keep readers turning the pages.”—Publishers Weekly

“Touching, funny, insightful and, well, beautiful.”—Dorothy Koomson, bestselling author of My Other Husband

“An exploration of one young woman’s grief, Someday, Maybe is equal parts sorrow and joy, and debut writer Nwabineli one to watch.”Red Magazine, Book of the Month

“Expect Nwabineli to emerge as a fresh new voice in contemporary fiction.”Reader's Digest, Most Anticipated Books of 2022

"This tender novel about grief triumphs in its reflections on how we are buoyed by the families we are born into, and the ones we make along the way."—Ayobami Adebayo, acclaimed author of Stay with Me

"Readers will find grief portrayed realistically as a complex, long-lived creature that embeds itself deeply, shifting but always present... Nwabineli's first novel is a clear-eyed, compassionate take on grief."Shelf Awareness

"A satisfying read and testimony to our human ability to heal."—San Francisco Chronicle

“A powerful debut novel about young love, profound loss, and the possibility of hope. Onyi Nwabineli is an author to watch.”—Brenda Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of The House on Blueberry Lane

“A devastating and powerful story about loss, love, and healing… An emotional journey packed with heartbreak, grief, and beautiful memories.”She Reads, Best Fiction Books Coming in 2022

“An honest and profoundly stirring portrait of loss. Onyi Nwabineli peels back the veneer of sympathy and expectation to reveal the effects a young widow’s grief can have on her family, on her circle of friends, and even on the strangers she encounters. ...At its heart, Someday, Maybe is a beautifully written love letter to the resiliency of the human spirit.”—Xio Axelrod, USA Today bestselling author of The Girl with Stars in Her Eyes

“Most touching is the way Eve grows to emotional maturity as the story goes on, swapping rage for grace and hurt for healing."—Financial Times

“One of the most notable debuts of the year. [T]his exploration of love and loss is surprisingly warm and deeply thought-provoking.”—E! online

“A love story in retrospect, heartbreaking in its inevitability but also shot through with moments of joy and humor as Eve searches for answers.”Stylist

“Fueled by inventive use of language and driven by sharp wit, the book conjures up a raw, living reality of sorrow, loss, and love… A funny, realistic elegy to love.”Irish Examiner

“A poignant story… For readers of You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty.”—LibraryReads Pick, November 2022

“Onyi Nwabineli’s graceful prose carries you through this moving meditation on grief, memory and community. Someday, Maybe is an astonishing debut, rich in both heartbreak and humour.”—Jendella Benson, author of Hope and Glory

“At turns deeply poignant and darkly comedic, Someday, Maybe is a beautiful rendering of an Igbo-British family’s ways of loving and caring for each other in the midst of great personal tragedy. This book will stay with me for a long time.”—Jade Bentil, author of Rebel Citizen

Someday, Maybe is a dazzling novel that provides an intimate exploration of the messiness of grief as well as the power of love.”—Voice magazine *Five Stars*

“An emotional story of a woman moving through grief with the help of a tremendous support system. The author doesn’t shy away from difficult realities. Readers looking for a window into the grieving process will gravitate toward her story.”—Library Journal, Top Fall Debuts

“If Someday, Maybe were alive, you would be compelled to pick it up, hold it to your shoulder, and pat it until it hiccupped raggedy breaths. You’d murmur comforting things. This book hurts in a way that’s familiar to anyone who’s tragically lost someone close.”—The Bookworm Sez -

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781525899805
  • ISBN 10: 1525899805
  • Imprint: Graydon House
  • On Sale: 11/01/2022
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:34.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / African American / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Family Life / Siblings
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / World Literature / Africa / Nigeria
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Romance / Contemporary

Someday, Maybe by Onyi Nwabineli

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.