The Witch of Willow Hall

by Hester Fox

On Sale: 10/02/2018

The Witch of Willow Hall

Enlarge Book Cover

The Witch of Willow Hall

by Hester Fox

On Sale: 10/02/2018

Format:

About the Book

"Steeped in Gothic eeriness."--Nicola Cornick, USA Today bestselling author

In Salem, they burned. Now, they will rise.


New Oldbury, 1821

The house holds its breath, trying to outlast me…

Something has awakened in Willow Hall. Eighteen-year-old Lydia Montrose can feel it. But she has no idea what it is.

Rocked by rumor and scandal, Lydia, her parents, and her sisters, Catherine and Emeline, fled their sparkling life in Boston for the sleepy country estate. But bone-chilling noises in the night have Lydia convinced their idyllic new home wasn’t exactly vacant when they arrived.

The Salem witch trials cast a long shadow over the Montrose family as the cloying heat of summer in Massachusetts mingles with something sinister in the air. The sprawling history of Willow Hall is no stranger to secrets, and its dark past soon calls to Lydia, igniting ancient magic she never knew she possessed. But with menacing forces unwilling to rest, threatening to tear her family apart, Lydia must learn to harness her newly discovered power or risk losing everyone she holds dear.

Delve into the magical power of flowers in Hester Fox's captivating new novel, THE BOOK OF THORNS, where long-lost sisters reunite on opposite sides of the Napoleonic Wars and must uncover the secrets of their mother's disappearance and their mystical powers…

Look for these other gothic mysteries from Hester Fox: 
  • The Last Heir to Blackwood Library
  • The Widow of Pale Harbor
  • The Orphan of Cemetery Hill
  • A Lullaby for Witches

Critical Praise

"The Witch of Willow Hall offers a fascinating location, a great plot with history and twists, and characters that live and breathe. I love the novel, and will be looking forward to all new works by this talented author!"--Heather Graham, New York Times bestselling author

"Beautifully written, skillfully plotted, and filled with quiet terror...perfect for fans of Simone St. James and Kate Morton." -Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby mysteries

"The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader." --Lisa Hall, author of Tell Me No Lies and Between You and Me

"I was entranced by this intriguing and spellbinding novel...I hope Hester Fox goes on to write many more such novels--I for one will be buying them."--Kathleen McGurl, author of The Girl from Ballymore

"This compelling story had me gripped from the first page. The vividly drawn characters cast their spell so convincingly, I couldn't stop reading until I discovered what happened to them. A wonderful debut novel."--Linda Finlay, author of The Flower Seller

"Steeped in Gothic eeriness, it's spine-tingling and very atmospheric. I love the character of Lydia and the way she learns and grows into her powers."--Nicola Cornick, USA TODAY bestselling author of House of Shadows

"The Witch of Willow Hall is so spookily good I felt haunted by it. Totally obsessed with Lydia's story...I absolutely loved it from start to finish."--Sarah Bennett, author of the Lavender Bay series

"A creepy estate, juicy scandal, family secrets, ghosts and a handsome yet mysterious suitor make this a satisfying and quietly foreboding tale."--BookPage

"Fox spins a satisfying debut yarn that includes witchcraft, tragedy, and love...the inclusion of gothic elements adds a visceral feel that fans of historical fiction with a dash of the supernatural will enjoy."--Publishers Weekly -

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781525833014
  • ISBN 10: 1525833014
  • Imprint: Graydon House
  • On Sale: 10/02/2018
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Historical
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Ghost
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Occult & Supernatural
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Gothic

The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.