A Lullaby for Witches

by Hester Fox

On Sale: 02/01/2022

A Lullaby for Witches

Enlarge Book Cover

A Lullaby for Witches

by Hester Fox

On Sale: 02/01/2022

Format:

About the Book

Two women. A history of witchcraft. And a deep-rooted female power that sings across the centuries.

Once there was a young woman from a well-to-do New England family who never quite fit with the drawing rooms and parlors of her kin.

Called instead to the tangled woods and wild cliffs surrounding her family’s estate, Margaret Harlowe grew both stranger and more beautiful as she cultivated her uncanny power. Soon, whispers of “witch” dogged her footsteps, and Margaret’s power began to wind itself with the tendrils of something darker.

One hundred and fifty years later, Augusta Podos takes a dream job at Harlowe House, the historic home of a wealthy New England family that has been turned into a small museum in Tynemouth, Massachusetts. When Augusta stumbles across an oblique reference to a daughter of the Harlowes who has nearly been expunged from the historical record, the mystery is too intriguing to ignore.

But as she digs deeper, something sinister unfurls from its sleep, a dark power that binds one woman to the other across lines of blood and time. If Augusta can’t resist its allure, everything she knows and loves—including her very life—could be lost forever.

Delve into the magical power of flowers in Hester Fox's captivating new novel, THE BOOK OF THORNS, where long-lost sisters reunite on opposite sides of the Napoleonic Wars and must uncover the secrets of their mother's disappearance and their mystical powers…

Look for these other gothic mysteries from Hester Fox: 

  • The Last Heir to Blackwood Library
  • The Witch of Willow Hall
  • The Widow of Pale Harbor
  • The Orphan of Cemetery Hill

Critical Praise

 "Weaves a spell of darkness that’s mysterious and magical, and binds it with a knot of deathless love."--New York Times bestselling author Susanna Kearsley 


"With expert pacing, Hester Fox peels back the layers of a mystery involving modern-day museum curator Augusta Podos and 19th century doomed witch Margaret Harlowe in this exquisite page-turner.  An atmospheric and heartbreaking tale of loss, dark magic and the power of love, this brilliant book will stay with you long after the last page."--Constance Sayers, author of The Ladies of the Secret Circus


"A spine-tingling blend of paranormal and historical fiction that feels gothic, gloomy, and perfect for winter."--BuzzFeed Books

"With unexpected twists aplenty, this is sure to keep fans of paranormal fantasies turning the pages. It’s a multilayered, haunting tale."--Publishers Weekly

“Fox deftly navigates the overlapping borders of romance and the paranormal.”--Kirkus

"Engrossing."--LibraryJournal

"A haunting story full of long-buried secrets...Fans of Louisa Morgan and Susanna Kearsley will want to pick this up."--ShelfAwareness

"Both timelines are compelling and readers will enjoy this blend of paranormal, gothic horror, romance, and historical fiction."--Booklist
-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781525804694
  • ISBN 10: 1525804693
  • Imprint: Graydon House
  • On Sale: 02/01/2022
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Occult & Supernatural
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Ghost
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Gothic

A Lullaby for Witches by Hester Fox

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.