Estella

by Kathy George

On Sale: 05/03/2023

Estella

Enlarge Book Cover

Estella

by Kathy George

On Sale: 05/03/2023

Format:

About the Book

'A haunting and darkly beautiful retelling of Dickens's Great Expectations.' Karen Brooks, author. The icily enigmatic anti-hero of Charles Dickens's Great Expectations tells her own story ... and changes the ending in this beguiling feminist take on a classic for readers of Pip Williams and Karen Brooks.


At just three years of age, Estella is taken from her mother, adopted by the wealthy but eccentric Miss Havisham and taught how to break men's hearts. Satis House is dark and oppressive and life with the vengeful Miss Havisham a confusion of contradictory lessons, but the kindness of the household cook and Estella's love of the nearby marshes bring her some joy. Forced to play with Pip, a local boy from a lowly background, Estella captivates his soul and breaks his heart, exactly as Miss Havisham has planned.

Years later, Estella returns from school in France as a young woman and is thrust into London society. There she meets Pip again, who has acquired an unknown benefactor and come into money. Miss Havisham recruits Pip to help find Estella a husband, much to her distress. She seems forever fated to be the plaything of others, locked into the destructive cycles her adoptive mother set in motion.

Estella is beautiful, headstrong, enigmatic - but who is she, really? Will she ever be able to break free from the constraints of society's expectations and her own childhood? Will Estella finally find a way to tell her own story?

This evocative and mesmerising retelling of Great Expectations sheds light on a little understood character in one of Dickens's most beloved novels.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781460747391
  • ISBN 10: 1460747399
  • Imprint: HarperAudio
  • On Sale: 05/03/2023
  • List Price:31.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Historical
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Literary
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Classics
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Gothic
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / General

Estella by Kathy George

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.