Death of a Foreign Gentleman

The intriguing new literary crime novel from the Miles Franklin award-winning author for readers of Ian McEwan, Sebastian Barry and William Boyd

by Steven Carroll

On Sale: 04/03/2024

Death of a Foreign Gentleman

The intriguing new literary crime novel from the Miles Franklin award-winning author for readers of Ian McEwan, Sebastian Barry and William Boyd

by Steven Carroll

On Sale: 04/03/2024

Format:

About the Book

From award-winning writer Steven Carroll comes the first book in a series of post-war literary crime novels featuring Detective Sergeant Stephen Minter.

Cambridge, UK, 1947. Martin Friedrich, a German philosopher, is cycling through an intersection on his way to give a lecture when a speeding car strikes and kills him. Shortly afterwards, Detective Sergeant Stephen Minter, an Austrian-born cockney Jew, whose parents were interned during the war as enemy aliens, stands over the body of Friedrich, contemplating the age-old question – who did it?

Friedrich might be one of the finest minds of his age, but he's problematic: arrogant and a womaniser, he was also, in the 1930s, a member of the Nazi Party. As Stephen is soon to discover, there is no shortage of suspects. Friedrich was hated by almost everybody, even those who loved him. Is there any sense to his death or was it just a case of rotten, random luck? Has the universe spoken? Or are there more sinister factors at work?

From one of Australia's finest, most critically acclaimed writers, Death of a Foreign Gentleman is a playful, poignant and absorbing literary crime novel, with shades of The Third Man and Brighton Rock, which examines the question of how to live a meaningful life in an indifferent, random, post-God world.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781460716465
  • ISBN 10: 1460716469
  • Imprint: 4th Estate
  • On Sale: 04/03/2024
  • Pages: 288
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Historical / World War II
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Thrillers / Espionage
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Literary

Death of a Foreign Gentleman by Steven Carroll

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.