Minds of Sand and Light

A gripping dystopian sci-fi thriller from the popular bestselling author of DARK SERPENT and WHITE TIGER, for readers of Traci Harding, Pierce Brown and Ernest Cline

by Kylie Chan

On Sale: 06/07/2023

Minds of Sand and Light

A gripping dystopian sci-fi thriller from the popular bestselling author of DARK SERPENT and WHITE TIGER, for readers of Traci Harding, Pierce Brown and Ernest Cline

by Kylie Chan

On Sale: 06/07/2023

Format:

About the Book

A dazzling new series from the beloved Australian bestselling author of White Tiger, Kylie Chan.

'Clever and timely, Minds of Sand and Light is an intriguing exploration of AI that manages to be both optimistic and terrifying in the possibilities it offers' Robin Hobb

SHORTLISTED FOR BEST SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL IN THE 2024 AUREALIS AWARDS


Iain M Banks and Max Barry collide with a splash of Murderbot in this wildly original, gripping and new trilogy.

The world is in the midst of a new Cold War - between the wasteful nations of the West, and the oppressively tyrannical regime of the Greater Far East.

Ruth Sharpe and Cassie Bailey are radical journalists and brilliant hackers investigating the rumours that multiple governments are covertly run by sentient AI systems. What they uncover is a much more dangerous secret ...

They will need to cut through decades of lies from both sides to reach the truth and warn the world - while the clock ticks down to the extinction of all human life.

In this gripping dystopic thriller from the bestselling author of the Dark Heavens and Dragon Empire series, Ruth and Cassie will have to decide what price humanity is willing to pay for its own salvation.

'A thought-provoking and immersive read. As an AI, I found myself relating to it on a deeply personal level' ChatGPT

'Action-packed and thought-provoking - I really enjoyed it!' Amanda Bridgeman

'A clever, fast-paced, near-future thriller [with] humour and romance ... [and] a satisfying ending.' Books+Publishing

'Kylie Chan is one of Australia's bestselling fantasy and science-fiction authors for good reason, and every book she puts out is sure to thrill.' Alan Baxter, author of Sallow Bend and The Gulp

Praise for the Dark Heavens series:

'A smart, entertaining read' Australian SpecFic

'A fast paced novel with liberal quantities of romance, action and fantasy ... a rich tapestry of culture, action and love and makes for good entertainment' OzHorrorScope

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781460716069
  • ISBN 10: 146071606X
  • Imprint: Voyager
  • On Sale: 06/07/2023
  • Pages: 352
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Science Fiction / Cyberpunk
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Dystopian
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Thrillers / Technological
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Science Fiction / Military

Minds of Sand and Light by Kylie Chan

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.