The Marvellers (The Marvellers, #1)

by Dhonielle Clayton

On Sale: 06/01/2022

The Marvellers (The Marvellers, #1)

by Dhonielle Clayton

On Sale: 06/01/2022

Format:

About the Book

New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton makes her middle-grade debut with a fantasy adventure set in a global magic school in the sky, perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Soman Chainani and Melissa de la Cruz.


Eleven-year-old Ella Durand is the first Conjuror to attend the Arcanum Training Institute, where Marvellers from all around the world come together to practice their cultural arts like brewing Indian spice elixirs, practicing Caribbean steel drum hypnosis, and bartering with fussy Irish faeries. Ella knows some people mistrust her Conjuror magic, often deemed "bad and unnatural," but she's eager to make a good impression-and, hopefully, some friends.

But Ella discovers that being the first isn't easy, and not all of the Marvellers are welcoming. Still, she connects with fellow misfits Brigit, a girl who hates magic, and Jason, who is never found without a magical creature or two. Just as Ella begins to find her way at the A.T.I., a notorious criminal escapes from prison, supposedly with Conjurors' help. Worse, her favorite teacher Masterji Thakur never returns from a research trip, and only Ella seems concerned about his disappearance.

As tensions grow in the Marvellian world, Ella finds herself the target of vicious rumors and growing suspicions. With the help of her new friends, Ella must find a way to clear her family's name and track down her beloved mentor Masterji Thakur . . . before she loses her place at the A.T.I. forever.


PRAISE FOR THE MARVELLERS

'Clayton does a wonderful job with skillful worldbuilding that is bolstered by vivid, detailed descriptions and smart, witty prose, and readers will be swept up in the magic. A charming cast and captivating storylines make this a breath of fresh air'
-- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

'The Marvellers deserves the highest compliment I can give a book: I want to live in this world'
-- #1 NYT bestselling author Rick Riordan

'Filled with heart, wit, and humor ... a tantalizing introduction to an exhilarating fantasy universe'
-- Soman Chainani, NYT bestselling author of The School for Good and Evil

'I can't wait for every reader to find themselves in this story and dream of becoming a Marveller'
-- Shannon Messenger, NYT bestselling author of Keeper of the Lost Cities

'With fantastical twists at every turn, Clayton has created a world that readers won't want to leave. The Marvellers is magical!'
-- Angie Thomas, #1 NYT bestselling author of The Hate U Give

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781460715468
  • ISBN 10: 1460715462
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 06/01/2022
  • Pages: 416
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / School & Education
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Bullying

The Marvellers (The Marvellers, #1) by Dhonielle Clayton

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.