Whimsy and Woe (Whimsy & Woe, Book 1)

by Rebecca McRitchie

On Sale: 08/21/2017

Whimsy and Woe (Whimsy & Woe, Book 1)

by Rebecca McRitchie

illustrated by Sonia Kretschmar

On Sale: 08/21/2017

Format:

About the Book

'ADVENTUROUS AND OUTLANDISH, WHIMSY AND WOE WILL HOOK KIDS IN FROM THE FIRST PAGE.'
-- Books+Publishing, four stars


After being abandoned by their thespian parents, Whimsy and Woe Mordaunt are left in the care of their austere Aunt Apoline.

Forced to work in Apoline's boarding house, slaving at the beck and call of outlandish and demanding guests, and sharpening the thorns of every plant in the poisonous plant garden, Whimsy and Woe lose all hope that their parents will ever return. Until one day, quite by accident, the siblings stumble upon a half-charred letter that sets them on a course to freedom and finding their parents.

Richly illustrated by award-winning illustrator Sonia Kretschmar, this first book in an exciting new series by talented debut author Rebecca McRitchie is filled with mischief, monocles, mystery and mice.


MORE PRAISE

'Whimsy and Woe has it all: incredibly courageous children (hooray!), an evil calculating aunt, the ignominious Ignatius Solt (boo!) and a despicable one-legged pirate (hiss!), captivity and misery in a boarding house populated by an outlandish clientele (gasp!) and a heroic escape from a treacherous storm, imprisonment in a swamp and a wolf with razor-sharp teeth ... all told with vivid thespian style and flair.' -- Readings

'Rebecca McRitchie knows what young readers want. McRitchie delivers a fun, energetic read in her debut children's fiction title; it is perfect for fans of Judith Rossell's Withering-by-Sea and Lemony Snicket's 'A Series of Unfortunate Events'. With non-stop plot twists, Whimsy and Woe has the ability to keep the attention of reluctant readers who will want to know what happens next.' -- Books+Publishing, four stars

'Written in a style wonderfully akin to Lemony Snicket, the quaint language and eccentric characters will capture your imagination and keep you up reading late into the night.' -- Goodreads review


AWARDS

Notable Book - CBCA Book of the Year Awards

Shortlisted - 2019 Davitt Awards

Shortlisted - 2018 Speech Pathology Book of the Year Awards

Shortlisted - 2022 West Australian Young Readers' Book Awards

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781460707685
  • ISBN 10: 1460707680
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 08/21/2017
  • Pages: 416
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Performing Arts / Theater
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Orphans & Foster Homes

Whimsy and Woe (Whimsy & Woe, Book 1) by Rebecca McRitchie

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.