Mortified

by Kristy Jackson

On Sale: 05/21/2024

Mortified

Enlarge Book Cover

Mortified

by Kristy Jackson

illustrated by Rhael McGregor

On Sale: 05/21/2024

Format:

About the Book

For fans of Remarkably Ruby and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, comedy and cringe come together in this sweet novel about facing your fears.

When someone secretly signs up Belinda Houle, the school’s shyest kid, to audition for a play, Belinda turns to her best friend, Sally, for help. Sally isn’t like the other kids. Unlike Belinda, she isn’t embarrassed by anything. Also, Sally thinks she’s a witch.

Belinda doesn’t believe in magic, but if Sally has a spell for confidence—well, it couldn’t hurt to try it. Could it?

What follows the spell is a series of tragedies so tragic they would have been funny—if only they weren’t happening to Belinda! First, Belinda’s ex-best friend tricks her into eating dog food. Next, she’s forced to wear a wig when her hair-straightening session goes very wrong. And then, Belinda slips on a plate of paint, wrecking a mural, and ends up with globs of green, brown and yellow paint all over her head!

Things get worse and worse, until Belinda must face the facts: One piece of bad luck can be explained away, but this? This is a straight-up curse!

Can she break the curse before the dreamy Ricky Daniels takes more notice of her crooked wig? More importantly, how can Belinda battle the very thing she hoped the spell would take away: her embarrassment?

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443472203
  • ISBN 10: 1443472204
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 05/21/2024
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence

Mortified by Kristy Jackson

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.