I Hope This Finds You Well

A Novel

by Natalie Sue

On Sale: 05/21/2024

I Hope This Finds You Well

Enlarge Book Cover

I Hope This Finds You Well

A Novel

by Natalie Sue

On Sale: 05/21/2024

Format:

About the Book

In this wildly funny and heart-warming office comedy, an admin worker accidentally gains access to her colleagues’ private emails and DMs and decides to use this intel to save her job. A laugh-till-you-cry debut novel you’ll be eager to share with your entire list of contacts, perfect for fans of Anxious People and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.

As far as Jolene is concerned, her interactions with her colleagues should start and end with her official duties as an admin for Supershops, Inc. Unfortunately, her irritating, incompetent coworkers don’t seem to understand the importance of boundaries. Her secret to survival? She vents her grievances in petty email postscripts, then changes the text colour to white so no one can see. That is, until one of her secret messages is exposed. Her punishment: sensitivity training (led by the suspiciously friendly HR guy, Cliff) and rigorous email restrictions.

When an IT mix-up grants her access to her entire department’s private emails and DMs, Jolene knows she should report it, but who could resist reading what their coworkers are really saying? And when she discovers layoffs are coming, she realizes this might just be the key to saving her job. The plan is simple: gain her boss’s favour, convince HR she’s Supershops material and beat out the competition.

But as Jolene is drawn further into her coworker’s private worlds and secrets, her carefully constructed walls begin to crumble—especially around Cliff, who she definitely cannot have feelings for. Soon she will need to decide if she’s ready to leave the comfort of her cubicle, even if it means coming clean to her colleagues.

Crackling with laugh-out-loud dialogue and relatable observations, I Hope This Finds You Well is a fresh and surprisingly tender comedy about loneliness and love beyond our computer screens. This sparkling debut novel will open your heart to the everyday eccentricities of work culture and the undeniable human connection that comes with it.

Critical Praise

I Hope This Finds You Well is like a donut in a break room: unexpected, surprisingly sweet, and totally made my day. Which is to say: I devoured it! While fans of The Office will delight in a modern send-up of workplace shenanigans, that comparison oversimplifies, because Natalie Sue has infused her main character with so much nuanced baggage that it echoes the movie Bridesmaids. We are all cheering wholeheartedly for this messy main character. We hope life, eventually, finds her well.” — Shelby Van Pelt, New York Times bestselling author of Remarkably Bright Creatures

“Snarky, romantic, and wickedly heartfelt, I Hope This Finds You Well is like the first perfect cup of coffee out of the office coffee pot. If you’re looking for your next favorite read, this book has everything—vengeful coworkers, fake engagements, and a hero with a heart of gold. Natalie Sue’s debut is an absolute stunner!” — Ashley Poston, New York Times bestselling author of The Dead Romantics

"Bright, hilarious, witty and smart, I absolutely loved Natalie Sue's debut novel, I HOPE THIS FINDS YOU WELL. Sue portrays the tedium and triumph of life in an office cubicle, along with its water cooler chats, bad coffee, awkward happy hours...and the magic that happens when lonely people search for connection." — Amanda Eyre Ward, New York Times bestselling author of The Jetsetters and The Lifeguards

"A hilarious and heartfelt exploration of the secrets we keep in order to get ahead and what happens when those painful truths no longer hold us back. Full of wickedly sharp banter and spectacularly funny office shenanigans, Jolene's story stole my heart, and I cheered her on through every page of it." — Elle Cosimano, New York Times bestselling author of Finlay Donovan Is Killing It

"An absolute gem. I don't remember the last time a book made me laugh and cry this much. Natalie Sue's depictions of office life are painfully spot-on yet hilarious, as are her characters. Anybody who's ever worked a dreary job or struggled to connect with another person (and isn't that all of us?) will relate to this gorgeously quirky and undeniably touching story." — Margarita Montimore, bestselling author of Oona Out of Order

"Office Space meets Fleabag in this utterly unique, hilarious and lovable novel. Natalie nails the minutiae of being a cog in the machine of corporate capitalism, but more impressively she gets to the heart of what it really means to be human. An absolute delight." — Colleen Oakley, USA Today bestselling author of The Mostly True Story of Tanner and Louise

"I knew I would fall in love with I Hope This Finds You Well from the first page, and I was right. This is a book you're going to want to read as slowly as possible to savor every hilarious, heartfelt moment with these lovable, broken, all-too-real characters!" — Jesse Q. Sutanto, USA Today bestselling author of Dial A For Aunties

“A hilarious skewering of office culture and its mundanities, I Hope This Finds You Well is also a poignant tale of human connection. Natalie Sue deftly shows us that, as much as our coworkers annoy us, most of them are just trying to do the best with the hand life has dealt them—just like we are.” — Mikki Brammer, author of The Collected Regrets of Clover

"Darkly funny with a brilliant premise: our endearingly petty protagonist Jolene accidentally gets access to her colleagues' emails. Think The Office, but for burnt out Millennials." — Emma Gannon, internationally bestselling author of Olive

“Sue speaks to the realities of contemporary workplace etiquette with humor, cutting wit, and heart.” — Iman Hariri-Kia, author of A Hundred Other Girls

"In her debut, Sue creates a vivid portrait of a truly lonely, heartbroken woman. Anyone who has worked in an office will appreciate the level of detail Sue uses to describe the experience—the particular bleakness of a sad office party, the petty gossip, the alliances and enmities. . . . A beautiful, honest, and often funny look at loneliness and the courage it takes to simply keep going." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443470254
  • ISBN 10: 1443470252
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 05/21/2024
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:25.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Romance / Workplace
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Humorous / General
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Contemporary Women

I Hope This Finds You Well by Natalie Sue

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.