The Survivor

How I Survived Six Concentration Camps and Became a Nazi Hunter

by Josef Lewkowicz, Michael Calvin

On Sale: 04/04/2023

The Survivor

Enlarge Book Cover

The Survivor

How I Survived Six Concentration Camps and Became a Nazi Hunter

by Josef Lewkowicz, Michael Calvin

On Sale: 04/04/2023

Format:

About the Book

An amazing, untold story of the Holocaust, of survivor turned Nazi hunter

In the tradition of The Boy in the Woods and By Chance Alone, The Survivor is an unbelievable yet true story of one man’s endurance and his determination to not only survive the Holocaust but to bring to justice those who perpetrated great crimes against humanity.

This is one of the last great untold stories of the Holocaust. Josef Lewkowicz was the only one left alive in his extended family of 150. The survivor of six concentration camps, he became a Nazi hunter, responsible for bringing to justice his greatest tormentor, the Butcher of Plaszow, as well as the murderous SS camp Kommandant Amon Goeth. Working as part of a covert operation, he also helped to rescue hundreds of orphaned children who had been hidden by doomed parents during the ghetto clearances in Poland. Many of these children were able to begin new lives in Israel.

Lewkowicz operated as a diamond dealer in South America, befriended leading Israeli politicians like Prime Minister Menachem Begin, and met Argentine dictator Juan Peron. He raised his family in Montreal. He is now ninety-six years old and lives in Jerusalem. This book, his testimony, captures the spirit, the soul, the neshama of the survivor.

Critical Praise

"A truly harrowing account, humanely told in fast-paced, affecting prose. You won’t be able to put it down — even in those moments where the truth feels too hard to read." — Sophy Roberts, author of The Lost Pianos of Siberia

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443468824
  • ISBN 10: 1443468827
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 04/04/2023
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Jewish
  • BISAC2 : HISTORY / Holocaust
  • BISAC3 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs

The Survivor by Josef Lewkowicz, Michael Calvin

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.