Black Cloud Rising

A Novel

by David Wright Faladé

On Sale: 02/15/2022

Black Cloud Rising

Enlarge Book Cover

Black Cloud Rising

A Novel

by David Wright Faladé

On Sale: 02/15/2022

Format:

About the Book

Set during the American Civil War, Black Cloud Rising is the powerful story of a man grappling with his own complicated history as he forges a future for himself—and his country. For readers of Edward P. Jones and Colson Whitehead

Told by Sgt. Richard Etheridge, the son of an enslaved woman and her former master, Black Cloud Rising is based on the true story of the African Brigade, an all-Black regiment led by General Edward Augustus Wild, a one-armed white abolitionist who terrorized the North Carolina countryside. Eager to prove his manhood and worth, but deeply conflicted about his own notions of Blackness and whiteness, Richard must navigate a world of violence and moral uncertainty, never knowing whether the shot that could end his life will be fired by his own white cousin, who has turned Confederate guerrilla, or his fellow soldier, the self-named Revere, who sneeringly sees through Richard’s racial self-doubt.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443466783
  • ISBN 10: 1443466786
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 02/15/2022
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Literary
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Historical / Civil War Era
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / African American / Historical

Black Cloud Rising by David Wright Faladé

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.