A Dreadful Splendour

A Novel

by B.R. Myers

On Sale: 07/12/2022

A Dreadful Splendour

Enlarge Book Cover

A Dreadful Splendour

A Novel

by B.R. Myers

On Sale: 07/12/2022

Format:

About the Book

A wickedly whimsical and delectable brew of mystery, spine-tingling chills and intoxicating romance that makes for an irresistibly fun and page-turning read

The bride: The dearly departed. Who could have killed her?

The groom: Is there no love lost for his would-be wife?

The medium: She speaks to the dead. She's a fake—isn't she?

The doctor: He swore to do no harm. Did he?

The ward: He lives in the house, but will he ever be family?

The lawyer: He's served the family for decades. If there were secrets, wouldn't he know them?

The housekeeper: She runs the house. What has she seen?

The maid: She knows all the gossip. What does she have to hide?

London, 1852. Genevieve Timmons has made her living posing as a spiritualist to swindle wealthy believers, until one misstep lands her in a jail cell awaiting the noose. Then a stranger, Mr. Lockhart, arrives to make her a peculiar offer. The lord he serves, Mr. Pemberton, has been grieving the mysterious death of his beautiful bride-to-be for six months. Although no foul play was ever uncovered, the young lord is convinced that she was murdered. If Genevieve can hold a séance to persuade him that his betrothed's spirit is at peace, Mr. Lockhart promises to have the charges against her dismissed and reward her with enough money to start a new life.

But when Genevieve arrives at Somerset Park estate, she discovers that the handsome and aloof Mr. Pemberton is anything but the heartbroken lover she expected. Mr. Pemberton then approaches Genevieve with an offer of his own: together, they will stage a séance so convincing it will coax the killer out of the shadows.

Attempting to play both sides until she can determine which plan holds the key to her freedom, Genevieve prepares to stage a haunting. But when ghoulish incidents begin to plague the manor, the dogged heroine realizes her tricks may not be required after all. Somerset and its residents are hiding many deadly secrets, and its ghosts could be all too real.

Critical Praise

“Breathtaking, puzzling and spine-chilling all at once. A spectacular, haunting mystery with a touch of romance and twists galore. Absolutely brilliant!” — T.A. Willberg, author of the Marion Lane Mysteries

"Delicious double crosses, a haunted estate, and a heroine who might just lose her heart—if she can keep her neck out of the hangman's noose. A Dreadful Splendour will keep readers guessing." — Kathleen Peacock, author of You Were Never Here 

"Thrilling, atmospheric and propulsive, with healthy doses of heart and humor thrown in for good measure, A Dreadful Splendour is a cleverly crafted mystery with an irrepressible heroine you won’t soon forget. I can’t remember the last time I had this much fun reading a book!" — Tom Ryan, author of Keep This to Yourself

"A Dreadful Splendour is a delightful mix of gothic, mystery, and romance, perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Sherry Thomas. Con artist heroine Genevieve is a memorable addition to literature's gallery of charming rogues. I had such fun reading this book." — Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author of Not Your Average Hot Guy

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443466349
  • ISBN 10: 1443466344
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 07/12/2022
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Romance / Historical / Victorian
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Gothic

A Dreadful Splendour by B.R. Myers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.