New Girl in Little Cove

A Novel

by Damhnait Monaghan

On Sale: 03/02/2021

New Girl in Little Cove

Enlarge Book Cover

New Girl in Little Cove

A Novel

by Damhnait Monaghan

On Sale: 03/02/2021

Format:

About the Book

When a new teacher arrives in a tiny fishing village, she realizes the most important lessons are the ones she learns outside the classroom. 

It’s 1985. Rachel O’Brien arrives in Little Cove seeking a fresh start after her father dies and her relationship ends. As a new teacher at the local Catholic high school, Rachel chafes against the small community, where everyone seems to know her business. The anonymous notes that keep appearing on her car, telling her to go home, don’t make her feel welcome either. 

Still, Rachel is quickly drawn into the island’s distinctive music and culture, as well as the lives of her students and fellow teacher, Doug Bishop. As Rachel begins to bond with her students, her feelings for Doug also begin to grow. Rachel tries to ignore her emotions because Doug is in a long-distance relationship with his high school sweetheart. Or is he? 

Eventually, Rachel’s beliefs clash with church and community, and she makes a decision that throws her career into jeopardy. In trying to help a student, has she gone too far? Only the intervention of the ‘Holy Dusters,’ local women who hook rugs and clean the church, can salvage Rachel’s job as well as her chance at a future with Doug.

    

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Prepare to have your pants charmed right off by this warm hug of a book.” - Globe and Mail (Toronto)

New Girl in Little Cove is a fish-out-of-water romantic comedy set against the backdrop of one of Canada’s most distinctive landscapes and cultures. Anyone who loves Newfoundland will appreciate the attention to detail in these pages: the fiddle music and fish cakes; the scarcity of fresh groceries and opportunities for young people; the painful legacy of men lost at sea; and the incomparable Holy Dusters, who keep the local church tidy and the community together. If you loved Come From Away, don’t miss this charming debut novel.”  - – Kate Hilton, bestselling author of The Hole in the Middle and Better Luck Next Time  

“Monaghan paints a full picture of a mysterious little town, giving supporting characters compelling backstories without resorting to caricature. Fans of Richard Russo’s That Old Cape Magic, Emily St. John Mandel’s The Glass Hotel, and Patricia Harman’s The Runaway Midwife will enjoy Rachel’s fish-out-of-water journey to acceptance and understanding.”
- Booklist

“Damhnait Monaghan has written a charming and funny novel about a come from away teacher finding herself, finding love, and sometimes finding more than she bargained for, in a very special part of the world. A fine storyteller at work.” - –Terry Fallis, two-time winner of the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour

“A charming, romantic, and often comic tale of falling in love with people and a place.”  - – Edward Riche, author of Today I Learned It Was You

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443462693
  • ISBN 10: 1443462691
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 03/02/2021
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Small Town & Rural
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / General

New Girl in Little Cove by Damhnait Monaghan

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.