The Hidden

A Novel

by Melanie Golding

On Sale: 11/09/2021

The Hidden

Enlarge Book Cover

The Hidden

A Novel

by Melanie Golding

On Sale: 11/09/2021

Format:

About the Book

Following her acclaimed debut, Little Darlings, Melanie Golding’s newest folkloric suspense is a spine-tingling twist on Celtic mythology. For readers of Sophia Hannah, Tana French and Sabine Durrant.

It’s December in a small seaside town, and Ruby Harper spends her nights looking into her neighbour’s apartment. Unable to sleep due to insomnia and the heartache of a family she has run away from, she fantasizes that the mystery man she watches could be the answer to her loneliness. But one night Ruby sees something unexpected: the man is not alone; a woman and a child are sharing the apartment—and they never go outside. Why are they kept hidden?

Then the man is found half-drowned in the bathtub, a pile of women’s clothes is left on the beach, and a little girl is discovered, abandoned. Detective Sergeant Joanna Harper is assigned to the case, which grows more complicated by the minute. Soon, a shocking revelation and a desperate bid for freedom put Ruby at the centre of a crime—and hot on her trail is DS Harper, who knows her better than anyone and is ready to anticipate her every move. 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Wonderfully original, full of heart and often suspenseful and surprising, [The Hidden] breathes new life into the thriller genre with its mashup of crime and myth. Golding is a terrific talent who sweeps you off your feet and carries you away on her words. I can't wait to read more from her. I loved this.” - C. J. Skuse, author of the Sweetpea mystery series

“A lush, hypnotic page-turner that illuminates the beauty of Selkie mythology and the horror of real monsters. Dark, twisty, and absolutely chilling.” - Rachel Harrison, author of The Return

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443456852
  • ISBN 10: 1443456853
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 11/09/2021
  • Pages: 432
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Psychological
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense

The Hidden by Melanie Golding

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.