Caught in a Lie

A Novel

by Anita Kushwaha

On Sale: 01/28/2020

Caught in a Lie

Enlarge Book Cover

Caught in a Lie

A Novel

by Anita Kushwaha

On Sale: 01/28/2020

Format:

About the Book

For readers of Shilpi Somaya Gowda’s Secret Daughter and Nancy Richler’s The Imposter Bride, a breathtaking novel from Anita Kushwaha about the ties that bind mothers and daughters together and the secrets that can tear them apart

Veena, Mala and Nandini are three very different women with something in common. Out of love, each bears a secret that will haunt her life—and that of her daughter—because the risk of telling the truth is too great. But secrets have consequences. Particularly to Asha, the young woman on the cusp of adulthood who links them together.

Asha is devastated to learn that she was adopted as a baby. What’s more, her birth mother died of a mysterious illness shortly before then, leaving Asha with a letter and no further explanation of why her birth father gave her up. Nandini, Asha’s adoptive mother, has always feared the truth would come between them.

Veena, a recent widow, worries about the future of her daughter, Mala, and is convinced that the only way to keep her safe is through an arranged marriage. Mala struggles to balance her dreams and ambition with her mother’s expectations. When she finds herself pregnant out of wedlock, she flips an undesirable situation to her advantage for the sake of her unborn child.

Three mothers, bound by love, deceit and a young woman who connects them all. Caught in a Lie is an intergenerational novel about family, duty and the choices we make in the name of love.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

An engaging and thought provoking read, Caught in a Lie paints a heart-wrenching portrait of interconnected lives struggling with loss, and coming to terms with the secrets they kept to meet society’s expectations. I couldn’t put it down! - Farah Heron, author of The Chai Factor

Anita Kushwaha’s novel Caught in a Lie is an evocative and lyrical work. The intersecting stories of Mala, Nandini and Asha will leave readers enthralled; you won’t be able to stop turning pages in this well written dramatic tale of family, secrets, and betrayal. - Uzma Jalaluddin, author of Ayesha At Last.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443456333
  • ISBN 10: 1443456330
  • Imprint: HarperAvenue
  • On Sale: 01/28/2020
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / General

Caught in a Lie by Anita Kushwaha

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.