Remain Silent

A Novel

by Susie Steiner

On Sale: 06/02/2020

Remain Silent

Enlarge Book Cover

Remain Silent

A Novel

by Susie Steiner

On Sale: 06/02/2020

Format:

About the Book

The body of a young migrant is found hanging from a tree.

There are no signs of struggle. No indication that it is anything other than a tragic suicide. Except for a note, pinned to the man’s trousers, that reads “The dead cannot speak.”

A murder investigation begins with DI Manon Bradshaw at the helm. But with the other migrants unwilling to talk to her, and protests taking place on the streets, hatred is starting to drown out the facts.
 
Can Manon uncover the truth before there's another victim?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Praise for Missing, Presumed - No Source

Missing, Presumed is fast-paced, twisty and full of realistic characters and scenarios. With any luck Detective Bradshaw will be back in future instalments, since she is a quirky, likable character, capable of carrying a series.” - Vancouver Sun

“[Steiner] gets inside the minds and lives of her book’s socially disparate personalities with the grace of a novelist of manners, even as she pulls tight the strands of one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year.” - Wall Street Journal

“[A] smart, stylish novel.” - New York Times Book Review

Missing, Presumed is an extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George—the surprises continue to the last page as Steiner blasts expectations and assumptions to dig deep into questions of trust, betrayal, class, and family bonds. Dazzling.” - Joseph Finder, New York Times-bestselling author of Paranoia and Company Man

“Gripping, authentic, funny and moving, Missing, Presumed hits the sweet spot between literary and crime fiction. The plot is gripping, with a twist that knocked me sideways. More than that, the characters became dear friends over the course of the book. I’m already looking forward to the next one.” - Erin Kelly, author of The Poison Tree and Broadchurch

“This novel stands out from the pack in two significant ways: first of all, in the solution, which reflects a sophisticated commentary on today’s news stories about how prejudices about race and privilege play out in our justice system; and second, in the wounded, compassionate, human character of Manon. Her struggles to define love and family at a time when both are open to interpretation make for a highly charismatic and engaging story.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A vein of dark humor pulses beneath this compelling whodunit with an appealing, complicated heroine at its center.” - Publishers Weekly

Praise for Persons Unknown - No Source

“I loved it. . . . Persons Unknown is like walking on quicksand, for reader and detective alike.” - Val McDermid

“The best new crime series in years.” - Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent

“Clever and original.” - Sunday Times (London)

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443455329
  • ISBN 10: 1443455326
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 06/02/2020
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:22.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / General
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Thrillers / Crime

Remain Silent by Susie Steiner

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.