The Storms of War

A Novel

by Kate Williams

On Sale: 02/27/2018

Read a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

The Storms of War

A Novel

by Kate Williams

On Sale: 02/27/2018

Format:

About the Book

“The queen of historical fiction.” —The Guardian

For fans of Downton Abbey, Atonement and Sebastian Faulks’s Birdsong, the powerful first novel in a series about a privileged British family whose idyllic world is shattered during the First World War

“Hard to put down. . . . Gripping, thoughtful, heartbreaking, and, above all, human.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning their daughter Emmeline’s wedding, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris, and Michael is back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest de Witt, is on the brink of adulthood and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future.

But the onslaught of war changes everything, and the de Witts find themselves in danger of losing all they have. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only her but those she loves in peril.

With cinematic scope and pitch-perfect detail, New York Times–bestselling author Kate Williams tells the unforgettable story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Hard to put down…. A new perspective on an old war. Gripping, thoughtful, heartbreaking, and, above all, human.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Wartime-saga lovers will be kept on their toes to the end.” - Daily Mail (UK)

“This terrific saga comes with a fascinating twist. . . . Williams has a gift for showing how great movements in history affect the lives of people caught up in them.” - The Times (London)

“Historian Kate Williams’s epic about the First World War starts in the idyllic country mansion of the wealthy de Witt family…. [She] outlines the tragedy of war but also reveals…how this first modern conflict changed British society beyond recognition.” - Sunday Express (London)

“A big juicy drama set on the eve of the First World War. . . . A spellbinding portrait of a family clinging on desperately to its privileged way of life.” - Good Housekeeping

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443454612
  • ISBN 10: 1443454613
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 02/27/2018
  • Pages: 768
  • List Price:12.50 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / General

The Storms of War by Kate Williams

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.