The Wake

The Deadly Legacy of a Newfoundland Tsunami

by Linden MacIntyre

On Sale: 08/27/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

The Wake

The Deadly Legacy of a Newfoundland Tsunami

by Linden MacIntyre

On Sale: 08/27/2019

Format:

About the Book

In the vein of Erik Larson’s Isaac’s Storm and Dead Wake comes an incredible true story of destruction and survival in Newfoundland by one of Canada’s best-known writers

On November 18, 1929, a tsunami struck Newfoundland’s Burin Peninsula. Giant waves, up to three storeys high, hit the coast at a hundred kilometres per hour, flooding dozens of communities and washing entire houses out to sea. The most destructive earthquake-related event in Newfoundland’s history, the disaster killed twenty-eight people and left hundreds more homeless or destitute. It took days for the outside world to find out about the death and damage caused by the tsunami, which forever changed the lives of the inhabitants of the fishing outports along the Burin Peninsula.

Scotiabank Giller Prize–winning writer Linden MacIntyre was born near St. Lawrence, Newfoundland, one of the villages virtually destroyed by the tsunami. By the time of his birth, the cod-fishing industry lay in ruins and the village had become a mining town. MacIntyre’s father, lured from Cape Breton to Newfoundland by a steady salary, worked in St. Lawrence in an underground mine that was later found to be radioactive. Hundreds of miners would die; hundreds more would struggle through shortened lives profoundly compromised by lung diseases ranging from silicosis and bronchitis to cancer. As MacIntyre says, though the tsunami killed twenty-eight people in 1929, it would claim hundreds if not thousands more lives in the decades to follow. And by the time the village returned to its roots and set up as a cod fishery once again, the stocks in the Grand Banks had plummeted and St. Lawrence found itself once again on the brink of disaster.

Written in MacIntyre’s trademark style, The Wake is a major new work by one of this country’s top writers.

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Great, soulful storytelling. All of Linden MacIntyre’s singular capacities—as novelist, reporter, social critic, and intimate chronicler of Atlantic Canada—are in full force-of-nature in The Wake.” - Charles Foran, author of Mordecai: The Life and Times and Planet Lolita

“Fast-paced and near-unstoppable, The Wake is the kind of book you can’t put down. Linden MacIntyre’s relentless voice just won’t let you stop reading, deftly showing how man and nature stacked the dice against the people of small-town Newfoundland.” - Russell Wangersky, author of Whirl Away, finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and Burning Down the House

“For generations, the hardy citizens of Newfoundland’s southern shore, where Linden MacIntyre was born, have met unfathomable loss and hardship with enduring bravery. MacIntyre’s deep and abiding compassion for these people shines through in this masterful work.” - Mark Sakamoto, author of Forgiveness: A Gift from My Grandparents, winner of CBC Canada Reads

“Beautifully written, both descriptively and analytically precise, and a significant contribution.” - Elliott Leyton, anthropologist and author of Dying Hard

“MacIntyre can build suspense from thin air.” - Maclean’s

“MacIntyre’s novelistic style and the stories of men, dogs, work, mining, liquor, church, politics, and fate are reminiscent of No Great Mischief, by another Cape Bretoner, Alistair MacLeod.” - Quill & Quire

“MacIntyre isn’t just another face and larynx from television [but] an honest-to-God writer.” - Winnipeg Free Press

“MacIntyre is a masterful storyteller.” - Toronto Star

“MacIntyre is a fine writer.” - Alistair MacLeod, author of No Great Mischief

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443452021
  • ISBN 10: 1443452025
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 08/27/2019
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:32.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : HISTORY / Canada / General
  • BISAC2 : HISTORY / Modern / 20th Century
  • BISAC3 : NATURE / Natural Disasters

The Wake by Linden MacIntyre

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.