The Golden Boy of Crime

The Almost Certainly True Story of Norman "Red" Ryan

by Jim Brown

On Sale: 05/14/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

The Golden Boy of Crime

The Almost Certainly True Story of Norman "Red" Ryan

by Jim Brown

On Sale: 05/14/2019

Format:

About the Book

For readers of The Devil in the White City and The Massey Murder, the incredible story of Norman “Red” Ryan—“the Jesse James of Canada” and the “Kardashian” of the 1920s and ’30s

Dubbed “the Jesse James of Canada,” Norman “Red” Ryan was infamous in the 1920s and ’30s until he was gunned down in an attempted robbery in Sarnia, Ontario. Ernest Hemingway wrote about Ryan’s escape from Kingston Penitentiary for the Toronto Star, Morley Callaghan based a novel on him and stories of Ryan and his crimes filled newspapers and airwaves. One of the first Canadians to be granted parole, he was held up by Prime Minister R. B. Bennett as a model of rehabilitation and became a regular guest at Toronto police picnics. All the while, however, Ryan was continuing a crime spree on the side.

Jim Brown, filmmaker and CBC Radio host, tells the incredible true story of “Red” Ryan, a larger-than-life criminal whose fame and legend were much encouraged by the media—he was the “Kardashian” of the time—and whose story endures.

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443450096
  • ISBN 10: 144345009X
  • Imprint: Collins
  • On Sale: 05/14/2019
  • Pages: 288
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Criminals & Outlaws
  • BISAC2 : HISTORY / Canada / General
  • BISAC3 : TRUE CRIME / General

The Golden Boy of Crime by Jim Brown

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.