The Illusionists

by Rosie Thomas

On Sale: 06/30/2015

Read a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

The Illusionists

by Rosie Thomas

On Sale: 06/30/2015

Format:

About the Book

An enchanting, Dickensian tale of desire, magic and the Victorian theatre, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, The Night Circus and Water for Elephants—from the beloved and bestselling author of The Kashmir Shawl

London, 1885—a challenging place for a young, beautiful woman of limited means. But Eliza is modern before her time. She longs for more than the stifling, if respectable, conventionality of marriage, children, domestic drudgery. Through her work as an artist’s model, she meets the magnetic and irascible Devil Wix—a born showman whose dream is to run his own theatre company.

Devil’s right-hand man is Carlo Bonomi, an ill-tempered dwarf who is a talented magician and illusionist. Carlo and Devil clash at every turn and it falls to Eliza to broker an uneasy peace between them. Jasper Button, a mild-mannered family man at heart, is a gifted artist and the unlikely final member of the motley crew. With self-styled impresario Devil at the helm of the Palmyra Theatre, acrobats and illusionists astonish audiences with their death-defying stunts and the magic of mysterious new inventions—like electricity. Backstage, secret romances, box-office dramas and power struggles inevitably simmer, and intermittently boil over. And as Eliza is drawn into their seductive, precarious and exciting bohemian world, she risks not only her heart, but also her life . . .

Framed by Rosie Thomas’s rich portrayal of the rapidly changing world of late-Victorian England, The Illusionists takes readers on an unforgettable journey with a cast of passionate, larger-than-life figures who are inextricably linked through their shared love of the stage and the theatre, and who will make you laugh and break your heart.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443436250
  • ISBN 10: 1443436259
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 06/30/2015
  • Pages: 480
  • List Price:17.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / General

The Illusionists by Rosie Thomas

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.