The Second Sister

A Novel

by Claire Kendal

On Sale: 06/26/2018

Read a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

The Second Sister

A Novel

by Claire Kendal

On Sale: 06/26/2018

Format:

About the Book

Almost a decade ago, Ella’s sister, Miranda, vanished leaving behind a two-month-old son. Ella is now 30, the age Miranda was when she was seemingly ripped out of existence. Luke, her nephew, wants to leave his grandparents and come to live with her. And with every passing year, Ella looks more and more like her missing sister.

 

As the 10-year anniversary of the tragedy approaches, Ella becomes convinced that the man who took Miranda is watching her family. But for her, this is an opportunity—not a source of fear. She is more determined than ever to find out who he is and what happened.  After a decade spent feeling like the best part of her was cut away, she still fears that she is partly to blame for what happened to Miranda. But when new evidence appears, no one will take Ella seriously. Is she just paranoid or is she the only one actually paying any attention?

 

Perfect for fans of SJ Watson and Paula Hawkins, this new novel of sophisticated psychological suspense from Claire Kendal charts the fallout from thirty year–old Miranda’s disappearance—and her younger sister’s quest to find her.

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Praise for The Book of You: “Minutes after you dip into Kendal’s novel you’ll know what it’s like to be a woman who’s being stalked—and by the end, your heart will thump and your shirt will get clammy with nervous sweat.” - Entertainment Weekly, Editor’s Pick

“Truly riveting.” - New York Times Book Review

“Obsession masquerades as love in British author Kendal’s intimate, chilling first novel. . . . With flawless timing . . . Kendal spins a tale that’s troubling, raw, and gripping.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“An engrossing literary thriller. . . . The author (who lectures in English literature and creative writing) uses the more violent and sadistic aspects of fairy tales . . . to explore modern relationships. . . . As grimly seductive as any of its inspirational sources.” - Los Angeles Times

“Your stomach will be in knots.” - San Antonio Express-News

“Kendal’s debut novel is a palpitating tale of obsession and dangerously unrequited love. Fans of Gone Girl and The Silent Wife will enjoy the delectable tension right up until the heart-stopping conclusion.” - Library Journal (starred review)

“Kendal displays insights and empathy that add depth to the mounting psychological suspense.” - Booklist

“An engrossing literary thriller….As grimly seductive as any of its inspirational sources.” - Los Angeles Times

“A tense, absorbing thriller that explores the complex bonds of sisterhood as seen through the eyes of a strong, capable woman who will stop at nothing in her very personal quest for answers.” - Kirkus Reviews

“A thriller with intelligence and a high creep factor. . . . False leads, red herrings, uncovered secrets, multiple suspects, loads of dread and all the other elements that, creepily, make the book work so successfully.” - Toronto Star

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443426015
  • ISBN 10: 1443426016
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 06/26/2018
  • Pages: 480
  • List Price:18.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Thrillers / General
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Contemporary Women

The Second Sister by Claire Kendal

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.