Long Stretch

by Linden MacIntyre

On Sale: 08/01/2010

Long Stretch

by Linden MacIntyre

On Sale: 08/01/2010

Format:

CBA Libris Award for Non-Fiction

About the Book

From a gifted storyteller and one of Canada’s most respected journalists, The Long Stretch is a saga of love and war, the story of those who have "gone away" and those who are compelled to stay. In one apocalyptic night, John Gillis and his estranged cousin Sextus confront a half century of half-truths and suppositions that have shaped and scarred their lives, their families and their insular Cape Breton community. Telling stories that unravel a host of secrets, they begin to realize that they were damaged before they were born, their fathers and a close friend forming an unholy trilogy in a tragic moment of war. Among the roots of a complex and painful relationship, they uncover the truth of a fateful day John has spent 20 years trying to forget. Taut and brilliantly paced, etched with quiet humour and crafted with fiery dialogue, The Long Stretch is a mesmerizing novel in the tradition of Alistair MacLeod, David Adams Richards and Ann-Marie MacDonald.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“[A] stylistically assured and mature first novel.” - Toronto Star

“MacIntyre conveys the language and the landscape of Cape Breton very effectively. . . . Evokes the complex relations that can draw families together and yet slowly drive them apart.” - Quill & Quire

“I can’t tell you enough how much I absolutely love this book. . . . If you live in Cape Breton or Newfoundland, you’re going to love this book. . . . I did not want to put it down.” - Candy Palmater, The Candy Show

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443401319
  • ISBN 10: 1443401315
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 08/01/2010
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:10.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / General

Long Stretch by Linden MacIntyre

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.