First Cut

A Novel

by Judy Melinek, T.J. Mitchell

On Sale: 12/29/2020

First Cut

Enlarge Book Cover

First Cut

A Novel

by Judy Melinek, T.J. Mitchell

On Sale: 12/29/2020

Format:

About the Book

A young rookie medical examiner. A suspicious case. An underworld plot only she saw coming.

For San Francisco’s newest medical examiner, Dr. Jessie Teska, it was supposed to be a fresh start. A new job in a new city. A way to escape her own dark past. Instead she faces a chilling discovery when an opioid-overdose case contains hints of something more sinister. Jessie’s superiors urge her to close the case, but as more bodies land on her autopsy table, she uncovers an elaborate plot involving drug dealers and Bitcoin brokers. Autopsy means “see for yourself,” and Jessie Teska won’t stop until she has seen it all—even if it means that the next corpse on the table could be her own.

Critical Praise

“Scalpel sharp. First Cut allows a peek into the autopsy room through the eyes of a pro.”—Kathy Reichs


“Who better to deliver a genuinely compelling mystery than real-life medical examiners? Fans of CSI and Forensic Files will devour this well plotted story.”—Karin Slaughter


"All the charm, gruesome detail and surprising empathy that made Working Stiff such a delight brought back in a novel. An impressive opener to a series that deserves to run and run."—Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls and The Killer Next Door


“A strong series launch…While Jessie’s gutsy personality will endear her to readers, it’s the meticulous detail that distinguishes this novel…Fans of Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta will be pleased.”—Publishers Weekly


“The married authors…expertly employ their know-how, maintaining blood-and-guts vérité while empathetically exploring what it’s like to do a job with actual life-and-death stakes. First Cut is a fascinating, entertaining series kickoff, with a particularly kickass heroine.”—BookPage
-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781335081339
  • ISBN 10: 133508133X
  • Imprint: Hanover Square Press
  • On Sale: 12/29/2020
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:25.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Thrillers / Crime

First Cut by Judy Melinek, T.J. Mitchell

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.