The Library Thief

A Novel

by Kuchenga Shenjé

On Sale: 05/07/2024

The Library Thief

Enlarge Book Cover

The Library Thief

A Novel

by Kuchenga Shenjé

On Sale: 05/07/2024

Format:

About the Book

The library is under lock and key. But its secrets can't be contained.

1896. After he brought her home from Jamaica as a baby, Florence's father had her hair hot-combed to make her look like the other girls. But as a young woman, Florence is not so easy to tame—and when she brings scandal to his door, the bookbinder throws her onto the streets of Manchester.

Intercepting her father's latest commission, Florence talks her way into the forbidding Rose Hall to restore its rare books. Lord Francis Belfield's library is old and full of secrets—but none so intriguing as the whispers about his late wife… 

Evocative, arresting and tightly plotted, The Library Thief is at once a propulsive Gothic mystery and a striking exploration of race, gender and self-discovery in Victorian England. 

Critical Praise

"Fantastic."—NPR
 
"Powerful, sagacious and warm, The Library Thief is both a gripping, multi-layered mystery and a gorgeously absorbing novel that demanded I return to its pages whenever I had the audacity to set it down. Without a doubt, Shenjé's wholly original debut has bestseller written all over it."—Joanne Burn, author of The Hemlock Cure
 
"A compelling novel that starts as a mystery and grows into a coming-of-age story, examining identity, belonging, loneliness and friendship within the restrictive and stifling world of late Victorian society. The Library Thief is filled with fantastically drawn characters and with a love of books that shines through the prose."—Katie Lumsden, author of The Secrets of Hartwood Hall
 
"A tantalizing read that swells with secrecy and intrigue. It's hard to believe that Kuchenga Shenjé writes of the past, and not of the present. A beautifully and skillfully written debut."—Candice Carty-Williams, bestselling author of Queenie
 
 
 
"If this book's a thief of anything—it was my attention. I was hooked, the story opening with the tantalizing traditions of a gothic mystery and then unfurling in unexpected directions, threading themes of identity, sexuality and a woman's impossible choices into an intricate web of mysteries that would not let me go."—Cari Thomas, international bestselling author of Threadneedle


 “In her debut novel, Shenjé rightfully joins a distinguished line of authors who love books and secrets and know exactly how to combine the two.”—Booklist
 
"Shenjé shines a light on LGBTQIA+ love and people of color in Victorian England... Fans of Sarah Waters and Bridget Collins might have in Shenjé a new author to add to their TBR lists."—Library Journal
-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781335013323
  • ISBN 10: 1335013326
  • Imprint: Hanover Square Press
  • On Sale: 05/07/2024
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:25.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Literary
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Gothic
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / African American / Historical
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Cultural Heritage

The Library Thief by Kuchenga Shenjé

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.