Main Character Energy

A Novel

by Jamie Varon

On Sale: 09/05/2023

Main Character Energy

Enlarge Book Cover

Main Character Energy

A Novel

by Jamie Varon

On Sale: 09/05/2023

Format:

About the Book

“Poppy is bright and complicated and utterly enchanting in Jamie Varon’s debut.” 
Ashley Poston, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Dead Romantics

Poppy Banks would rather be writing mysteries than writing listicles for her dead-end job at Thought Buzz. But after a series of rejections, she’s ready to accept life on the sidelines as a plus-size woman. Her aunt Margot is the one person unwilling to give up on her niece’s dreams and tells her so at their secret yearly lunches.

But all of Poppy’s beliefs about herself are challenged when her beloved aunt dies and leaves her niece a grand surprise—a trip to her villa in the French Riviera. There, she learns her aunt intends to leave her stunning villa and secretive writer's residency to Poppy—if she can finish her novel in six months.

When the writing countdown begins, Poppy realizes she has more to confront than her writer’s block. Family drama, complicated romances and self-doubt all threaten to throw her off course. In this fun and heartwarming debut, Poppy must decide if she can live up to her aunt’s—and her own—desire to be the main character in her own life.

Critical Praise

"Main Character Energy absolutely dazzled me from the opening scene until the very last page. Poppy Banks is an immensely relatable and likable heroine on a journey of self-discovery with the potential to achieve her dreams and live her very best life in the French Riviera. Needless to say, I was hooked! I read this wonderful novel compulsively and with great joy. Highly recommend!" —Jenn McKinlay, New York Times bestselling author of Summer Reading

Main Character Energy embraces the best and worst parts of writing with candor and heart. Poppy is bright and complicated and utterly enchanting in Jamie Varon’s debut.” Ashley Poston, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Dead Romantics

“A smartly crafted and spunky romantic comedy...Varon delivers an immensely fun travel adventure. This well-plotted, lively rom-com is populated by a large cast of diverse, colorful characters, beguiling romance, and lots of pleasant surprises.” —Shelf Awareness

"Varon’s debut features a likable, plus-size heroine capable of achieving her dreams... This uplifting novel is ideal for fans of Beth Morrey and Kate Clayborn." Booklist

“Sparkling fiction debut… Varon crafts fully realized protagonists whose authorial ambitions and frustrations will resonate with bookish readers. Varon has a promising career in fiction in front of her.” Publishers Weekly

"[Main Character Energy] deftly captures how it feels to be of a certain age without possessing the life one had hoped for." Kirkus Reviews -

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780778334200
  • ISBN 10: 0778334201
  • Imprint: Park Row
  • On Sale: 09/05/2023
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Family Life
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Romance / Romantic Comedy

Main Character Energy by Jamie Varon

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.