Little Secrets

by Anna Snoekstra

On Sale: 10/17/2017

Little Secrets

Enlarge Book Cover

Little Secrets

by Anna Snoekstra

On Sale: 10/17/2017

Format:

About the Book

What happens when ambition trumps the truth?

A town reeling in the wake of tragedy

An arsonist is on the loose in Colmstock, Australia, most recently burning down the town’s courthouse and killing a young boy who was trapped inside.

An aspiring journalist desperate for a story

The clock is ticking for Rose Blakey. With nothing but rejections from newspapers piling up, her job pulling beers for cops at the local tavern isn’t nearly enough to cover rent. Rose needs a story—a big one.

Little dolls full of secrets

In the weeks after the courthouse fire, precise porcelain replicas of Colmstock’s daughters begin turning up on doorsteps, terrifying parents and testing the limits of the town’s already fractured police force.

Rose may have finally found her story. But as her articles gain traction and the boundaries of her investigation blur, Colmstock is seized by a seething paranoia. Soon, no one is safe from suspicion. And when Rose’s attention turns to the mysterious stranger living in the rooms behind the tavern, neighbor turns on neighbor and the darkest side of self-preservation is revealed.

Critical Praise

"LITTLE SECRETS is a must-read for fans of Lisa Gardner and Gilly Macmillan, and is sure to be enjoyed by most mystery lovers." --Bookpage

"[Little Secrets] is a suspenseful, multi-layered puzzle, and the characters are complex and emotionally damaged, making this dark and twisted tale a veritable page-turner." --RT Book Reviews

"In LITTLE SECRETS, Anna Snoekstra does a nice job of creating atmosphere and putting the reader directly inside the lives of a handful of people who may represent the end of the innocence for their small town." --Bookreporter

"LITTLE SECRETS is both twisty and twisted, a portrait of the ugly secrets simmering in a dying town. Snoekstra writes an original tale that is mysterious and dark but also touching and true." –Janelle Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear

"A smart and compulsive psychological thriller with an original, engaging, and ultimately surprising protagonist. I couldn't put it down!"
-Graeme Simsion, New York Times bestselling author of The Rosie Project on LITTLE SECRETS

"Snoekstra's excellent debut stands out in the crowded psychological suspense field with smart, subtle red herrings and plenty of dark and violent secrets. Recommend to genre aficionados and readers who enjoyed Lisa Lutz's The Passenger." --Library Journal (starred review), on Only Daughter

"Unreliable narrator thrillers are practically a subgenre of their own, and there are two unreliable narrators here as well as a wickedly twisted and fast-paced plot that leaves numerous questions unanswered... readers who enjoy a creepy thriller that will keep them guessing will be unable to put this down." --Booklist (starred review), on Only Daughter

"ONLY DAUGHTER by Anna Snoekstra is a dark meditation on the secrets we keep about our families and about ourselves. Twisty, slippery, and full of surprises, this web of lies will ensnare you and keep you riveted until you've turned the final page."--Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Ink and Bone.

"In Anna Snoekstra's dark and edgy debut, a young woman slips easily into the life of a girl missing eleven years, only to discover the grisly truth behind the disappearance. Will she be the next victim? Truly distinctive and tautly told, ONLY DAUGHTER welcomes a thrilling new voice in crime fiction."
--Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl -

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780778331094
  • ISBN 10: 0778331091
  • Imprint: MIRA
  • On Sale: 10/17/2017
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price:19.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Thrillers / General
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Thrillers / Crime

Little Secrets by Anna Snoekstra

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.