Not a Sound

A Thriller

by Heather Gudenkauf

On Sale: 05/30/2017

Not a Sound

Enlarge Book Cover

Not a Sound

A Thriller

by Heather Gudenkauf

On Sale: 05/30/2017

Format:

About the Book

A shocking discovery and chilling secrets converge in this gripping novel from New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf

When a tragic accident leaves nurse Amelia Winn deaf, she loses everything that matters—her job, her husband, David, and her stepdaughter, Nora. Now, two years later and with the help of her hearing dog, Stitch, she is finally getting back on her feet. But when she discovers the body of a fellow nurse in the dense bush by the river, deep in the woods near her cabin, she is plunged into a disturbing mystery that could shatter the carefully reconstructed pieces of her life all over again.

As clues begin to surface, Amelia finds herself swept into an investigation that hits all too close to home. But how much is she willing to risk in order to uncover the truth and bring a killer to justice? 

And don’t miss Heather’s latest book, AN OVERNIGHT GUEST! You’ll be chilled and riveted from start to finish with this story of an unexpected visitor and a deadly snowstorm!

Check out these other riveting novels of suspense by bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf:

The Weight of Silence
These Things Hidden
One Breath Away
Little Mercies
Missing Pieces
Before She Was Found
This is How I Lied


 

Critical Praise

"Heather Gudenkauf is one of my favorite new authors, and NOT A SOUND explains why. You won't be able to put down this breathless story of a young nurse, Amelia Winn, who has lost everything after a tragic accident – her nursing career, her husband, her stepdaughter, and even her hearing. You'll root for Amelia as she battles to reclaim her life and even fights to get justice for a friend of hers, a nurse who was brutally murdered. NOT A SOUND is not only a riveting thriller, but it's a moving portrait of a woman who is stronger than she ever believed possible, against all odds." -Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling author

"[A] moving thriller... Gudenkauf maximizes tension all the way through the literally cliff-hanging finale." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Gudenkauf has created a memorable character in Amelia. Self-deprecating and sometimes angry, her candid voice is a breath of fresh air and an antidote to traditional thriller heroines. In addition, she is self-reliant and strong. The plot contains some clever twists, and the final showdown crackles with tension. It's hard not to root for Amelia and Stitch; flawed as they are, they're tough, engaging fighters. Come for the mystery; stay for the taut suspense, the unique heroine-and of course, the ugly, loyal dog." -Kirkus Reviews

"Heather Gudenkauf has created a special thriller with a unique and brilliantly effective hook that I simply could not put down. Not a Sound gripped me and held me tight until the very last page-and I'm still shivering." -C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Vicious Circle

"Twisting, atmospheric and dark, Heather Gudenkauf's NOT A SOUND will draw you right into the silent world of Amelia Winn and keep you riveted. This is a thrill ride to be sure, but it's also a gripping tale of tragedy and redemption. If you haven't read Heather Gudenkauf yet, now's the time." -Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of THE RED HUNTER

"When was the last time you stayed up late because you just had to finish a thriller? [Not a Sound] kept me reading till the birds started chirping." –The Washington Post

"Heather Gudenkauf has written a spell-binding thriller which reminds us just how strong the human spirit can be, and yet how fragile life is." –Suspense magazine

"[Heather Gudenakuf is] rendering some of the most compelling and likable female characters in print today... Recommended for all fans of psychological suspense, particularly those who enjoy Jennifer McMahon and Jodi Picoult." –Booklist

"A fast-paced... suspense novel that will appeal to fans of Joy Fielding and Jenny Milchman." –Library Journal -

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780778319955
  • ISBN 10: 0778319954
  • Imprint: Park Row
  • On Sale: 05/30/2017
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Thrillers / Crime
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense

Not a Sound by Heather Gudenkauf

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.