The Drowning Girls

A Novel of Suspense

by Paula Treick DeBoard

On Sale: 04/26/2016

The Drowning Girls

Enlarge Book Cover

The Drowning Girls

A Novel of Suspense

by Paula Treick DeBoard

On Sale: 04/26/2016

Format:

About the Book

"Spellbinding."—Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl and Pretty Baby"Disturbing…provocative." —Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling authorCritically acclaimed author of The Mourning Hours and The Fragile World, Paula Treick DeBoard returns with a tale of dark secrets, shocking lies and a dangerous obsession that will change one neighborhood forever 

Liz McGinnis never imagined herself living in a luxurious gated community like The Palms. Ever since she and her family moved in, she's felt like an outsider amongst the Stepford-like wives and their obnoxiously spoiled children. Still, she's determined to make it work—if not for herself, then for her husband, Phil, who landed them this lavish home in the first place, and for her daughter, Danielle, who's about to enter high school. 

Yet underneath the glossy veneer of The Palms, life is far from idyllic. In a place where reputation is everything, Liz soon discovers that even the friendliest residents can't be trusted. So when the gorgeous girl next door befriends Danielle, Liz can't help but find sophisticated Kelsey's interest in her shy and slightly nerdy daughter a bit suspicious. 

But while Kelsey quickly becomes a fixture in the McGinnis home, Liz's relationships with both Danielle and Phil grow strained. Now even her own family seems to be hiding things, and it's not long before their dream of living the high life quickly spirals out of control…More Praise"[The] next must-read…"—Catherine McKenzie, bestselling author of Hidden and Smoke"Heart-pounding." —Sophie Littlefield, New York Times bestselling author"Suspenseful and compelling." —Karen Brown, author of The Longings of Wayward Girls

Critical Praise

"Give this tale of domestic suspense, with its pitch-perfect pacing, to Gillian Flynn and Mary Kubica devotees." -Library Journal, starred review

"In Paula Treick DeBoard's latest breathtaking thriller, she paints a stark and chillingly real portrayal of a family torn apart by teenage transgressions. Gritty and inauspicious from the start, The Drowning Girls left me awestruck, revealing DeBoard's true brilliance as an author. Spellbinding." -Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl

"Think Fatal Attraction meets Desperate Housewives, and you have DeBoard's latest thriller... This is a gripping, tense suspense story with a good surprise ending." -Booklist

"The Drowning Girls by Paula Treick DeBoard is cleverly plotted, full of twists and turns and so well-written that it pulls you in from page one. Genuinely suspenseful, Treick DeBoard delivers a disturbing, multilayered, provocative novel that is impossible to put down." -Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence

"A heart-pounding look at what lies behind the deceptively placid veneer of the well-to-do suburbs. The kaleidoscopic view of innocence, danger, and malice shifts and twists as it races to a shattering conclusion." -Sophie Littlefield, bestselling author of The Guilty One, on The Drowning Girls

"In The Drowning Girls, DeBoard pulls you right into her world and holds you in her grip until the book's final twist. Fans of The Good Girl and The Luckiest Girl Alive, and really anyone who enjoys great suspense, have found their next must-read. Sure to be the book everyone is talking about in 2016, I could not put it down." -Catherine McKenzie, bestselling author of Hidden and Smoke

"The Drowning Girls casts a spell as brilliant and alluring as the gated community of its setting. Paula Treick DeBoard maps this world of privilege and secrets with a deft hand, and from the novel's terrifying opening pages reveals a family's tragic unraveling. These characters long for love and happiness, but the trail of duplicity that ultimately ensnares them creates a suspenseful and compelling page-turner I couldn't put down." -Karen Brown, author of The Longings of Wayward Girls

"A coming-of-age tale about a family in crisis expertly told by Ms. DeBoard. The Fragile World examines how profound loss changes all who are forced to come to terms with it. Touching and compelling, it will move you." -Lesley Kagen, New York Times bestselling author of Whistling in the Dark and The Resurrection of Tess Blessing

"Assured storytelling propels DeBoard's first novel." -Publishers Weekly on The Mourning Hours

"Rich and evocative...compelling." -RT Book Review on The Mourning Hours -

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780778318378
  • ISBN 10: 0778318370
  • Imprint: MIRA
  • On Sale: 04/26/2016
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:18.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Family Life
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Literary

The Drowning Girls by Paula Treick DeBoard

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.