Say It Again in a Nice Voice

The funny and relatable memoir about motherhood from the Women's Prize shortlisted author of Sorrow & Bliss, for readers of Ann Patchett and Dolly Alderton

by Meg Mason

On Sale: 03/01/2012

Say It Again in a Nice Voice

The funny and relatable memoir about motherhood from the Women's Prize shortlisted author of Sorrow & Bliss, for readers of Ann Patchett and Dolly Alderton

by Meg Mason

On Sale: 03/01/2012

Format:

About the Book

From the author of the much-acclaimed novels Sorrow and Bliss and You Be Mother, Meg Mason, comes a hilarious and endearing memoir about first-time parenting.

'Achingly funny.' Better Homes and Gardens

'It's a fair bet to suggest that Say It Again in a Nice Voice will resonate with a lot of mothers.' Sydney Morning Herald

'Mothers. those women with purses the size of meat trays that hold an entire deck of school portrait photos and a chequebook, make a casserole without a recipe, make the tightest bed you'll ever sleep in and only swear under extreme duress. How, how, would I go from me to that?'

At 24, Meg Mason was newly married to a man 'essentially indistinguishable from a young Matt Damon' after landing her dream job, writing for The Times in London. What could possibly go wrong? A holiday in Greece, an accidental shortage of birth control, and eight months later she was sobbing on the side of a road over trading her career for something she knew zip about.

On October 8, 2003, she invented motherhood by Having A Baby. On October 9, she discovered a bunch of women had done that already. But still they couldn't tell her how to do it. Thanks to a helpful neighbour, she knew that convincing a newborn to take a bottle by letting it lick a Dorito first to 'get more thirsty' didn't always work, but not what to do when your child won't sleep for roughly two years in London or in Sydney, or how to remove your hand from a stroller - after you've superglued it to the handle.

Hair-raising, terrifying and hilariously funny, along the way she discovers that being a mother, however disaster-prone, just might be the only thing that she is truly irreplaceable at.

'Meg Mason has a way of making the most mundane baby drama hilarious. Say It Again In A Nice Voice had me laughing out loud ... Hands down it would be hard to admit to as many 'new mother mistakes' as delightful, self-deprecating Meg.' ABC Radio

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780730495321
  • ISBN 10: 0730495329
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 03/01/2012
  • Pages: 304
  • BISAC1 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
  • BISAC2 : FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Marriage & Long Term Relationships
  • BISAC3 : HUMOR / Topic / Marriage & Family
  • BISAC4 : FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Parenting / Motherhood
  • BISAC5 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women

Say It Again in a Nice Voice by Meg Mason

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.