Whale Talk

by Chris Crutcher

On Sale: 04/10/2001

Read a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

Whale Talk

by Chris Crutcher

On Sale: 04/10/2001

Format:

New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age

Texas Library Association Tayshas High School Reading List

Washington State Book Award

ALA Top 10 Best Book for Young Adults

ALA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults

ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults

Book Sense Pick

About the Book

“A truly exceptional book.”—Washington Post

There's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is that they don't have a pool. The good news is that only one of them can swim anyway. Bestselling author Chris Crutcher’s controversial and acclaimed novel follows a group of outcasts as they take on inequality and injustice in their high school.

"Crutcher's superior gifts as a storyteller and his background as a working therapist combine to make magic in Whale Talk. The thread of truth in his fiction reminds us that heroes can come in any shape, color, ability or size, and friendship can bridge nearly any divide.”—Washington Post

T.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees a member of the wrestling team threatening an underclassman, T.J. decides he’s had enough. He recruits some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High to form a swim team. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. As the unlikely athletes move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward. For fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp.

"Crutcher offers an unusual yet resonant mixture of black comedy and tragedy that lays bare the superficiality of the high-school scene. The book's shocking climax will force readers to re-examine their own values and may cause them to alter their perception of individuals pegged as 'losers.'"—Publishers Weekly

An American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults
New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age

Educator and Librarian Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780688180195
  • ISBN 10: 0688180191
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 04/10/2001
  • Pages: 224
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Water Sports
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Physical & Emotional Abuse (see also Social Themes / Sexual Abuse)

Whale Talk by Chris Crutcher

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.