Peppe the Lamplighter

by Elisa Bartone

On Sale: 04/26/1993

Peppe the Lamplighter

Enlarge Book Cover

Peppe the Lamplighter

by Elisa Bartone

illustrated by Ted Lewin

On Sale: 04/26/1993

Format:

Caldecott Honor Book

ALA Notable Children’s Book

About the Book

In the tradition of Lois Lowry and Paul Fleischman, Elisa Bartone's Caldecott Honor-winning book gives children a glimpse into American history and the immigrant experience.

This is the story of Peppe, who becomes a lamplighter to help support his immigrant family in turn-of-the-century New York City, despite his papa's disapproval. Peppe's family is very poor, and though he is just a boy he needs to find work. Being a lamplighter is not the job his father had dreamed of for Peppe, but when Peppe's job helps save his little sister, he earns the respect of his entire family.

Supports the Common Core State Standards.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780688102685
  • ISBN 10: 0688102689
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 04/26/1993
  • Pages: 32
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / United States / 20th Century
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Lifestyles / City & Town Life

Peppe the Lamplighter by Elisa Bartone

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.