The Year I Flew Away

by Marie Arnold

On Sale: 09/20/2022

The Year I Flew Away

Enlarge Book Cover

The Year I Flew Away

by Marie Arnold

On Sale: 09/20/2022

Format:

About the Book

In this magical middle grade novel, ten-year-old Gabrielle finds out that America isn't the perfect place she imagined when she moves from Haiti to Brooklyn. With the help of a clever witch, Gabrielle becomes the perfect American—but will she lose herself in the process? Perfect for fans of Hurricane Child and Front Desk.

It's 1985 and ten-year-old Gabrielle is excited to be moving from Haiti to America. Unfortunately, her parents won't be able to join her yet and she'll be living in a place called Brooklyn, New York, with relatives she has never met.

She promises her parents that she will behave, but life proves to be difficult in the United States, from learning the language to always feeling like she doesn't fit in to being bullied. So when a witch offers her a chance to speak English perfectly and be “American," she makes the deal.

But soon she realizes how much she has given up by trying to fit in and, along with her two new friends (one of them a talking rat), takes on the witch in an epic battle to try to reverse the spell.

Gabrielle is a funny and engaging heroine you won't soon forget in this sweet and lyrical novel that's perfect for fans of Hurricane Child and Front Desk.

Critical Praise

"Arnold skillfully fuses distinct immigrant experiences with the supernatural to express a universally felt desire for belonging....Gabrielle is a charming narrator, and of course, good guy (girl) magic wins out in the end, but the threat to immigrant lives and identities is presented poignantly nonetheless in this richly imaginative origin story of one Haitian American girl that offers a fantastical take on immigrant narratives."    — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Balancing realistic and fantastical elements, Arnold’s astute debut asks hard questions about what it means to be an American and who is considered one." Publishers Weekly

"Readers will find themselves unable to set the book down during the final chapters. The characters are well developed—even the school bully—and the prejudices that Gabrielle both witnesses and experiences are portrayed in a way that is frank and easy to understand. The interpersonal relationships and fantasy elements complement each other well, and Arnold navigates skillfully between the two....A fantasy adventure combined with a loving portrayal of Haitian culture and immigrant experiences creates an action-packed story with a lot of heart." — School Library Journal

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780358733331
  • ISBN 10: 0358733332
  • Imprint: Versify
  • On Sale: 09/20/2022
  • Pages: 256
  • List Price:12.50 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / African American
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / Caribbean & Latin America
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
  • BISAC6 : JUVENILE FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  • BISAC7 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC8 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)
  • BISAC9 : JUVENILE FICTION / Girls & Women
  • BISAC10 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic

The Year I Flew Away by Marie Arnold

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.