The Ivory Key

by Akshaya Raman

On Sale: 12/06/2022

The Ivory Key

by Akshaya Raman

On Sale: 12/06/2022

Format:

About the Book

In this epic YA fantasy debut, magic, a prized resource, is the only thing between peace and war. When magic runs out, four estranged royal siblings must find a new source before their country is swallowed by invading forces. The first in an Indian-inspired duology that's perfect for fans of There Will Come a Darkness, The Gilded Wolves, and We Hunt the Flame.

Vira, Ronak, Kaleb, and Riya may be siblings, but they've never been close or even liked each other that much. Torn apart by the different paths their lives have taken, only one thing can bring them back together: the search for the Ivory Key, a thing of legend that will lead the way to a new source of magic.

Magic is Ashoka's biggest export and the only thing standing between them and war with the neighboring kingdoms—as long as their enemies don't find out that the magic mines are nearly depleted.

The siblings all have something to gain from finding the Ivory Key, and even more to lose if they don't. For Vira, the Ivory Key is the only way to live up to the legacy of her mother, the beloved former maharani. Ronak plans to get out of his impending political marriage by selling the Ivory Key to the highest bidder. Kaleb has been falsely accused of assassinating the former maharani, and this is the only way to clear his name. And Riya needs to prove her loyalty to the Ravens, the group of rebels that wants to take control away from the maharani and give it to the people.

With each sibling harboring secrets and conflicting agendas, figuring out a way to work together may be the most difficult task of all. And in a quest this dangerous, working together is the only way to survive.

Critical Praise

“Raman's Indian-inspired fantasy debut is a dream for seekers of character-driven stories...Slow-burning romance, BIPOC and queer representation, family drama, and a country under threat of war—the first in Raman's duology does not disappoint.” — Booklist (starred review)

“Skillfully weaves together political intrigue, complex sibling relationships, and magic.” — Kirkus Reviews

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780358701538
  • ISBN 10: 0358701538
  • Imprint: Clarion Books
  • On Sale: 12/06/2022
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:14.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Epic
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Siblings
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Clean & Wholesome

The Ivory Key by Akshaya Raman

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.