The Takeout

by Tracy Badua

On Sale: 05/09/2023

The Takeout

Enlarge Book Cover

The Takeout

by Tracy Badua

On Sale: 05/09/2023

Format:

About the Book

When a celebrity chef’s new restaurant threatens Mila’s family’s food truck, she plans to expose them for the recipe thieves they are—even if that means dabbling in the Filipino folk magic she’s tried to avoid. Fans of Tae Keller and Lily LaMotte will cheer for this charming story about food, family, and finding the place you belong.

Mila may have moved to Coral Beach months ago, but it still doesn’t feel like home. A few awkward incidents with her new friends make her wonder if she’ll ever neatly fit into the super-samey small town.

The only place she can be herself is at her dad’s Filipino-Indian food truck, The Banana Leaf. But when celebrity chef twins the Fab Foodie Brothers open a restaurant nearby, it turns out the food they are serving is exactly the same as The Banana Leaf's--right down to the recipes!

Mila realizes that she needs to take the Fab Foodie Brothers down before they run her family's tiny truck out of town. But that means dabbling in the Filipino magic that she has shied away from her whole life . . . as well as alienating her new friends.  

Does Mila have to choose between her family and fitting in? Or, like the best recipes, will a blend of the traditional and the unexpected mix into something truly special?

Also by Tracy Badua:

  • Freddie vs. The Family Curse

Critical Praise

"A magical and delicious read that’s filled with love." — Kirkus Reviews

"Badua’s latest novel is a fusion of magic and cooking with a dash of humor. . . . This story that explores the struggle of fitting in also touches on the challenge some children of immigrant parents deal with when one parent must live temporarily overseas." — Booklist

"Both Mila and Ajay are enterprising protagonists whose teamwork and dedication to their families add heart to this briskly paced magical adventure. Through Mila’s cheeky first-person narration, Badua tackles themes of family, identity, and perseverance." — Publishers Weekly

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780358671732
  • ISBN 10: 0358671736
  • Imprint: Clarion Books
  • On Sale: 05/09/2023
  • Pages: 240
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Legends, Myths, Fables / General
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / General (see also headings under Family)
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General

The Takeout by Tracy Badua

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.