Project Nought

by Chelsey Furedi

On Sale: 02/21/2023

Project Nought

Enlarge Book Cover

Project Nought

by Chelsey Furedi

illustrated by Chelsey Furedi

On Sale: 02/21/2023

Format:

Maryland Black-Eyed Susan Award

Rainbow Book List

YALSA Great Graphic Novels for Teen

Vermont Green Mountain Book Award

About the Book

For fans of Kiss Number 8 and On a Sunbeam, this debut graphic novel is a fast-paced time travel adventure with a hint of romance that has garnered 1.5 million views as a Tapas webcomic.

Ren Mittal's last memory in the year 1996 is getting on a bus to visit his mystery pen pal Georgia. When he wakes up in 2122, he thinks he might be hallucinating…he’s not!

Tech conglomerate Chronotech sponsors a time-travel program to help students in 2122 learn what history was really like…from real-life subjects who’ve been transported into the future…and Ren is one of them.

In 2122, Ren’s life in the 1990s is practically ancient history—and Ren’s not sure how to feel about that. On top of it all, he learns that his memory will be wiped of all things 2122 before he’s sent back to the '90s. Adding to Ren’s complicated feels, he's forming a crush on his student guide, Mars.

And when he crosses paths with the absolute last person he expected to see in the future, he has a bigger problem on his hands: What if Chronotech isn't the benevolent organization they claim to be, and he and his fellow subjects are in great danger?

Critical Praise

★ "An exemplary teen graphic novel that will cross interests of sci-fi, queer romance, adventure, and anti–big tech readers, gorgeously accessible." — School Library Journal (starred review)

“A joy ride that will take readers from crying to gripping their seats and back again.”  — Kirkus Reviews

A solidly queer addition to the sci-fi canon that interrogates how the pursuit of science can sometimes overshadow a commitment to ethics.” — Publishers Weekly

"[A] fast-paced, suspenseful plot; some cliff-hangers and a surprise ending will win over most fans of the genre. Moments of light comedy, romantic subplots, and a twisty search for the truth, mixed with the cartoonish, anime-inspired drawing style makes this an easy sell to teens. Furedi does a wonderful job with LGBTQIA+ representation throughout the piece, which plays well into the plot, as Ren must not only contemplate his existence in this strange time but his own sexual orientation. A compelling and thought-provoking sci-fi adventure grounded in relatable characters.” — Booklist Online

"Exaggerated expressions, shocks of vivid color, and creative use of panel size all work to reinforce significant moments in the text. Most effective with the visual format is the use of space, particularly around Ren, as the reader can see his emotional walls slowly coming down well before he admits it to himself. The sci-fi details and a significant plot twist provide plenty of intrigue, but Ren’s self-discovery is the heart of this stand-alone graphic novel."  — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780358381686
  • ISBN 10: 0358381681
  • Imprint: Clarion Books
  • On Sale: 02/21/2023
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price:31.00 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Science Fiction & Fantasy
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / LGBT
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Mystery & Detective
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Action & Adventure

Project Nought by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.