Still Sal

by Kevin Henkes

On Sale: 10/08/2024

Still Sal

Enlarge Book Cover

Still Sal

by Kevin Henkes

illustrated by Kevin Henkes

On Sale: 10/08/2024

Format:

About the Book

A stand-alone companion to two-time Newbery Honor author Kevin Henkes’s award-winning and acclaimed The Year of Billy Miller. With themes of family, friendship, and resilience, this very funny school story focuses on Billy’s little sister, Sal, and her first day of school. For fans of Ramona, Ivy + Bean, and Dory Fantasmagory. 

Sal has been looking forward to first grade for a long time. But her excitement quickly turns to disappointment when she learns that her best friend, Griff, is in the other first-grade classroom and has the most popular teacher. Then Sal’s name is spelled wrong on her name tag, she trips in front of the cool fifth graders, and her self-portrait doesn’t turn out the way she wanted it to. In fact, everything about school is an absolute disaster. Poor Sal!

Luckily for Sal, she has understanding parents, a terrific new teacher, and empathetic friends who remind her that it takes time to adjust to change. And sure enough, after a few days, Sal feels like herself again.

Still Sal highlights themes of family, friendship, social and emotional growth, resilience, and adapting to change. The fourth stand-alone book in the Miller Family sequence includes black-and-white illustrations by Caldecott Medal winner Kevin Henkes on almost every page and is an excellent choice for early elementary grades, for readers ready for a short novel, and for family and classroom read-alouds. 

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063389625
  • ISBN 10: 0063389622
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 10/08/2024
  • Pages: 256
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / School & Education
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC6 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

Still Sal by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.