Invisible Kitties

A Feline Study of Fluid Mechanics or The Spurious Incidents of the Cats in the Night-Time

by Yu Yoyo

On Sale: 10/01/2024

Invisible Kitties

Enlarge Book Cover

Invisible Kitties

A Feline Study of Fluid Mechanics or The Spurious Incidents of the Cats in the Night-Time

by Yu Yoyo

On Sale: 10/01/2024

Format:

About the Book

In this whimsical and inventive debut—perfect for fans of The Guest Cat and Calvino’s Invisible Cities—a young couple’s daily life is disrupted by their newly adopted cat, who soon initiates them into the wondrous world of felines.

Equal parts magical and humorous, Invisible Kitties tells the story of a young couple that one day accidentally comes into possession of a delightful, playful kitten. Bright eyed and bushy tailed, this new companion, aptly named Cat, upturns the routine of the narrator and her husband in their cramped apartment, and soon they find their existence forever altered as they gradually gain insight into the fantastical world of cats.

Every cat contains multitudes... Charting the couple’s ever-evolving relationship with cats –some they live with, others who exist solely in their imagination– Invisible Kitties introduces us to a coterie of extraordinary, physics-defying, death-defying cats. They drop from the sky, they grow from the soil, they transmute. They fly, flow, and evaporate. The young couple’s everyday life, often eclipsed by the drama of cats, offers a gentle glimpse of how joy can suddenly sneak into our lives.

Composed of sixty chapters written in Yu Yoyo’s elegant and witty style and complemented by the author’s own illustrations— Invisible Kitties is a celebration of ordinary life and the felines we love, deftly playing with the invisible boundaries between reality and imagination.

Translated from the Chinese by Jeremy Tiang 

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063336223
  • ISBN 10: 0063336227
  • Imprint: HarperVia
  • On Sale: 10/01/2024
  • Pages: 256
  • List Price:28.50 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Animals
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC3 : FICTION: World Literature / China / 21st Century

Invisible Kitties by Yu Yoyo

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.