Dinner at the Brake Fast

by Renee Beauregard Lute

On Sale: 06/25/2024

Dinner at the Brake Fast

Enlarge Book Cover

Dinner at the Brake Fast

by Renee Beauregard Lute

On Sale: 06/25/2024

Format:

About the Book

Dinner at the Brake Fast is a hilarious and heartfelt story about road-trip mishaps, a murderous rooster, facing down anxieties, and unexpected friendship that is a must-pick for readers who loved The Science of Unbreakable Things and The First Rule of Punk.

Tacoma Jones loves working at her family’s roadside diner, the Brake Fast, pouring coffee and serving eggs and muffins to truckers all day long. But tonight, she is finally going to break out her collection of cookbooks and prepare the best dinner the state of Washington has ever seen.

But her excitement is dampened when she learns that today is one of Dad’s bad days, when his depression makes it hard for him to get out of bed.

Tacoma knows she can’t fix her dad’s depression. But what she can do is steal back his prized photograph of his second-best day from her nemesis, the nasty Crocodile Kyle—while also planning a dinner that is sure to brighten up his bad day.

She just might need an accomplice or two to pull off the heist. . . . 

Critical Praise

"Rich characterizations, an electrifyingly original yet believable plot, and a perceptive voice distinguishes this captivating road trip tale. With standout compassion and candor, Lute explores the sometimes heartbreaking reality of living with a depressed parent and the joy that friends and cooking can bring." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A sweet, far-from-bland tale rich in food, family, and freshly made friendships." — Booklist (starred review)

"The rural Washington setting provides a wealth of quirky characters and locales, and the one-day timeframe lends a satisfying immediacy to the kids’ adventures... An uplifting caper " — Kirkus Reviews

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063324909
  • ISBN 10: 0063324903
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 06/25/2024
  • Pages: 208
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Parents
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Transportation / Cars & Trucks

Dinner at the Brake Fast by Renee Beauregard Lute

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.