Darkside

A Novel

by Michael Mammay

On Sale: 09/24/2024

Darkside

Enlarge Book Cover

Darkside

A Novel

by Michael Mammay

On Sale: 09/24/2024

Format:

About the Book

In this thrilling, action-packed fourth installment in the Planetside series from acclaimed science fiction author Michael Mammay, retired Colonel Carl Butler gears up for another military investigation, full of danger, corporate intrigue, and tech people would kill for—perfect for fans of John Scalzi and Craig Alanson. 

Colonel Butler has paid his dues and just wants to enjoy his retirement on a remote planet. But the galaxy has had other plans.  He has been roped into searching for a politician’s missing son and an industry magnate’s missing daughter. He has been kidnapped, violated numerous laws, and caused the destruction of colonial facilities. He’s famous—or infamous, depending on who you ask—praised and reviled in equal measure across the galaxy for his exploits.

And he is determined to never let the government drag him into another investigation.

But when a runaway twelve-year-old girl whose father has gone missing asks him for help, well…it’s a lot harder to say no.

The girl’s father, Jorge Ramiro, was supposed to have been on Taug, a moon orbiting the gas giant Ridia 5, working on a dig with a famous archaeologist. But now there’s no sign of him and no record of him being there. Mining operations on the moon are run by two different consortiums, Caliber and Omicron—both of which have tried to kill Butler in the past. Butler doesn’t believe in coincidence.

Landing on Taug with his right-hand man Mac, computer genius Ganos, and an elite security squad, Butler soon finds that they’ve charged back into the crosshairs—because Ramiro is not the only who has disappeared, and the perpetual darkside of this moon is hiding more than the truth about a missing archeologist…


Critical Praise

“Impressively well-balanced page-turner... propulsive and satisfying.” — New York Times Book Review on Generation Ship

“A tough, authentic-feeling story that starts out fast and accelerates from there.”   — Jack Campbell, New York Times bestselling author of Ascendant, on Planetside

“Taut, highly political SF thriller...Highly recommended.” — Library Journal (starred review) Best SF/Fantasy of 2023 on Generation Ship

“The idea of generation ships is not a new one in SF, but Mammay’s approach and style are unique. Fans of James S. A. Corey’s Expanse series (2011) will enjoy this one.”  — Booklist (starred review)

Planetside is a smart and fast-paced blend of mystery and boots-in-the-dirt military SF that reads like a high-speed collision between Courage Under Fire and Heart of Darkness.”  — Marko Kloos, bestselling author of the Frontline series

Generation Ship is a ferocious story of human desperation, boiling with tension and betrayal.” — Sunyi Dean, author of The Book Eaters

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063320130
  • ISBN 10: 0063320134
  • Imprint: Harper Voyager
  • On Sale: 09/24/2024
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Science Fiction / Military
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Private Investigators
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Thrillers / Military
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / War & Military
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Science Fiction / Alien Contact

Darkside by Michael Mammay

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.