The Daggers of Ire

by J.C. Cervantes

On Sale: 09/03/2024

The Daggers of Ire

Enlarge Book Cover

The Daggers of Ire

by J.C. Cervantes

On Sale: 09/03/2024

Format:

About the Book

“A perfect blend of magic, humor, adventure, and heart!" —Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Percy Jackson and the Olympians

A rich and exciting new Latine middle grade fantasy about sisterhood, magic, and the power of kids to face what grown-ups refuse to see—by J. C. Cervantes, New York Times bestselling author of the Storm Runner series

Esmerelda Santos is a rare bruja, born with Chaos magic in her veins. She and her family are direct descendants of one of the four original witches—a mysterious legend about the night magic was born in San Bosco. But since the death of her mother, Esme is more concerned about healing their father’s spiraling grief.

When Esme finds a heart spell in a forbidden grimorio, she thinks it could be the answer to making her dad whole again. But before she can try, she and her best friend, Tiago, discover that their families and all the town’s witches have vanished—along with their magic, which keeps San Bosco alive. The only way to save them and the town is to find an original witch—impossible, since no one has actually ever seen one.

With a witch hunter on their tail, Esme and Tiago journey to a banished realm where forbidden magic runs wild. Here the two must embrace their powers and confront the legend’s terrible truths . . . or risk losing their families and their magic forever.

Perfect for fans of Witchlings and Amari and the Night Brothers!

Critical Praise

“J.C.Cervantes is a powerful bruja. That’s the only explanation for how she can produce so many wonderful books. The Daggers of Ire is a perfect blend of magic, humor, adventure, and heart!” — Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Percy Jackson and the Olympians

“I had the best time with this book! A thoughtful story brimming with incredible magic, The Daggers of Ire is an exciting adventure that will captivate readers!” — B.B. Alston, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Amari and the Night Brothers and Amari and the Great Game

“The beauty of a J.C. Cervantes book is you know what you're in for from the jump--richly drawn mythology and action that will keep you reading long after lights out. Settle in and get ready. You're going to want to read this in one sitting.” — Jen Calonita, New York Times bestselling author of Go the Distance and the Fairy Tale Reform School series

“J.C. Cervantes weaves a magical netherworld with threads of lore, loss, family, and fate. An eerie and gorgeous dream of a book.” — Jacqueline West, bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere and Long Lost

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063312074
  • ISBN 10: 0063312077
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 09/03/2024
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Legends, Myths, Fables / Caribbean & Latin American
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Multigenerational

The Daggers of Ire by J.C. Cervantes

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.