With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei

by Justina Chen

On Sale: 05/07/2024

With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei

Enlarge Book Cover

With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei

by Justina Chen

On Sale: 05/07/2024

Format:

About the Book

Award-winning author Justina Chen delivers a powerful and heartfelt novel about a young girl who accidentally discovers she has an identical twin sister. This joyous novel about reunited adoptee sisters experiencing new family traditions, foods, and customs together is perfect for fans of Janae Marks, Kelly Yang, and Meg Medina.

On Dessie Mei Breedlove’s first day at a new school in the middle of her sixth-grade year, who does she see? A classmate who looks exactly like her. As in: Dessie and Donna Lee have the exact same glossy black hair. The exact same brown eyes. The exact same cheeky smile.

A secret DNA test reveals the shocking truth: Dessie and Donna are identical twins, adopted from the same orphanage in China, then separated into two different families: one white, the other Taiwanese American. The Breedloves and the Lees.

Making up for lost time, the girls throw themselves into their newfound sisterhood, relishing every similarity. Cats or dogs (dogs!). Sweet or savory (both!). Favorite band (A2Z, duh!). But the small differences between the girls soon create tension…and when crisis strikes, Dessie must figure out who she is, where she belongs, and what it truly means to be a sister.

Critical Praise

“Justina Chen is such a welcome voice in middle grade literature! With her engaging writing, readers will discover that America’s promise is for all of us.” — Grace Lin, Newbery Honor winning author of Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

"When fate delivers a shocking surprise, Dessie's life is turned-upside down. Family and friendship are tested in this wonderful heartfelt novel about what it means to belong." — Lisa Yee, Newbery Honor Winner

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063306523
  • ISBN 10: 0063306522
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 05/07/2024
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Adoption
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION: Social Themes / Activism & Social Justice
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience

With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei by Justina Chen

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.